Planet palettes
Jonahrf Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 02:02 | Message # 46
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 39
Status: Offline
Used the Light-brown palette for Saturn. Looks very real!
Edited by Jonahrf - Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 02:03
apenpaap Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 15:24 | Message # 47
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Here's a palette for a planet made of metal: (iron, lead, gold, silver, rusted iron, and cobalt)
Terra version:
Code
// Mirrodin Palette { Class "Terra" StyleRange (0.00, 0.00) colorBeach (0.72, 0.45, 0.20, 0.80) colorDesert (0.90, 0.89, 0.88, 1.00) colorLowland (0.83, 0.68, 0.22, 1.00) colorUpland (0.34, 0.34, 0.34, 0.50) colorRock (0.00, 0.28, 0.67, 0.45) colorSnow (0.83, 0.51, 0.19, 0.66) }
And, for an ocean of mercury:
Code
// Quicksilver OceanPalette { Class "Terra" StyleRange (0.00, 0.00) colorSea (0.75, 0.75, 0.75, 1.00); colorShelf (0.72, 0.25, 0.05, 0.10); }
Desert version:
Code
// Mirrodin Palette { Class "Desert" StyleRange (0.00, 0.00) colorSea (0.75, 0.75, 0.75, 1.00) colorShelf (0.72, 0.25, 0.05, 0.10) colorBeach (0.72, 0.45, 0.20, 0.80) colorDesert (0.90, 0.89, 0.88, 1.00) colorLowland (0.34, 0.34, 0.34, 0.50) colorUpland (0.83, 0.68, 0.22, 1.00) colorRock (0.00, 0.28, 0.67, 0.45) colorSnow (0.83, 0.51, 0.19, 0.66) }
And a selena:
Code
// Mirrodin Palette { Class "Selena" StyleRange (0.00, 0.00) colorSea (0.75, 0.75, 0.75, 1.00) colorShelf (0.72, 0.25, 0.05, 0.10) colorBeach (0.72, 0.45, 0.20, 0.80) colorDesert (0.90, 0.89, 0.88, 1.00) colorLowland (0.34, 0.34, 0.34, 0.50) colorUpland (0.00, 0.28, 0.67, 0.45) colorRock (0.83, 0.68, 0.22, 1.00) colorSnow (0.83, 0.51, 0.19, 0.66) }
For some reason, the gleam doesn't work on the selena.
I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax . Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
Edited by apenpaap - Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 15:27
DeathStar Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 15:43 | Message # 48
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
apenpaap , what a coincidence, I was just making a tin planet. I will post it soon.
DeathStar Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 16:06 | Message # 49
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Here is an ugly tin planet I made. The higher areas of the planet are made of nearly pure tin so they are gray, while the lowermost areas are dark green due to the huge concentrations of cassiterite. The area between the 2 is brownish due to concentrations of stannite. Code
// Tin planet Palette { Class "Selena" StyleRange (0.00, 0.00) colorSea (0.16, 0.20, 0.20, 0.00) colorShelf (0.31, 0.36, 0.36, 0.00) colorBeach (0.54, 0.51, 0.47, 0.00) colorDesert (0.59, 0.56, 0.53, 0.20) colorLowland (0.60, 0.63, 0.65, 0.50) colorUpland (0.66, 0.68, 0.70, 0.80) colorRock (0.71, 0.73, 0.75, 1.00) colorSnow (1.00, 1.00, 1.00, 1.00) }
EDIT:Why did it double post? How can I merge it with my previous one?
Edited by DeathStar - Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 16:08
apenpaap Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 16:10 | Message # 50
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
I don't think it's ugly, I like it quite a bit. Good job.
I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax . Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
DeathStar Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 16:26 | Message # 51
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Thanks. I personally think that the contrast is a bit too high, but it may just be me.
RockoRocks Date: Tuesday, 07.01.2014, 18:37 | Message # 52
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 674
Status: Offline
Quote apenpaap (
)
I don't think it's ugly, I like it quite a bit. Good job.
It's beatiful actually
I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
Bluejay0013 Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 06:42 | Message # 53
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
is there anyway to edit atmospheric colors?Added (08.01.2014, 09:42) --------------------------------------------- well I don't see a palette cfg file in the textures folder
AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
apenpaap Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 12:35 | Message # 54
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
It's in the Textures/Common folder and called planet_palette.cfg. As far as I know, atmospheres types can't be changed.
I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax . Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
Bluejay0013 Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 17:11 | Message # 55
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Yeah, I'm still using .97 so I don't see it, all I see is 2 cry files that say pack_desert and pack_terra and they don't have anything to do with palettes I think, maybe someone can help me to Crete this palette file?Added (08.01.2014, 20:11) --------------------------------------------- Sorry not cry file, cfg file, phone spell check
AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
HarbingerDawn Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 17:41 | Message # 56
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
This is a new feature of 0.971.
All forum users, please read this ! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
Bluejay0013 Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 19:08 | Message # 57
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 53
Status: Offline
Oh, that explains it, well is it possible to create this file for .97, as I said in another thread I am unable to upgrade to .971 because of computer specs
AMD3+ 8350 @ 4.00 ghz processor, a PNY Geforce 650 Ti @ 2 Gb graphics card, 2 4Gb DDR3 1600 sticks of ram, and a 500Gb HDD
apenpaap Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 19:39 | Message # 58
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
I doubt simply creating the file will do anything, but if you want to try, here's mine.
I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax . Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
HarbingerDawn Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 19:56 | Message # 59
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Bluejay0013 (
)
well is it possible to create this file for .97
No Quote Bluejay0013 (
)
I am unable to upgrade to .971 because of computer specs
They both have the same hardware requirements; if you were able to run 0.970, you should be able to run 0.971
All forum users, please read this ! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
neutronium76 Date: Wednesday, 08.01.2014, 20:34 | Message # 60
World Builder
Group: Users
Greece
Messages: 718
Status: Offline
Quote SpaceEngineer (
)
that StyleRange for gas and ice giants is splitted in 4 parts: (0.0 - 0.25) for scorched and hot giants, (0.25 - 0.5) for warm, temperate, and frozen, (0.5 - 0.75) for cool and (0.75 - 1.0) for cold giants. I forgot to expand this to all temperature types: in a next patch StyleRange will be splitted into 8 parts, starting from scorched to frozen giants.
Does this mean that if I want to leave the default ranges unchanged and add new ranges for modified palettes that overlap with the default ones, SE will ignore the new ranges? So basically I have to ''sacrifice'' a default range in order to see a modified gas or ice giant palette? i.e. I can not have both right?
PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1 PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2