ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Planet palettes
TotyDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 19:28 | Message # 1
Explorer
Group: SE team
Spain
Messages: 158
Status: Offline
Come on! Share with the forum your color palettes! happy

Some new ice worlds:



Hot gas giants:



Deserts:



Quote Voekoevaka ()
Place these on textures/common/planet_palette.cfg

If you paste the palettes like this, they will not work. You should add to them a probability, following this rule :

Each planet in SE have a parameter "Style" calculated procedurally. In a palette, you can choose the range of style the planet should have to have a certain style. The more the range is small, the more the palette will be rare. At the end, all the styleranges of the palettes of a planet class should recreate [0,1].


Edited by Toty - Thursday, 30.01.2014, 09:43
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 19:56 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Where do we place these incredible new palettes?




Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
 
spacerDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 20:05 | Message # 3
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Israel
Messages: 1258
Status: Offline
thanks. where i need to put this?




"we began as wanderers, and we are wanderers still"
-carl sagan

-space engine photographer
 
VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 20:11 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: SE team
France
Messages: 1016
Status: Offline
Place these on textures/common/planet_palette.cfg

If you paste the palettes like this, they will not work. You should add to them a probability, following this rule :

Each planet in SE have a parameter "Style" calculated procedurally. In a palette, you can choose the range of style the planet should have to have a certain style. The more the range is small, the more the palette will be rare. At the end, all the styleranges of the palettes of a planet class should recreate [0,1].





Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:29 | Message # 5
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
Beautiful! I tried making one myself. Not sure if it looks good or like a compete eyesore...


Code

//Green-orange
Palette
{
  Class  "IceWorld"
  StyleRange    (0.00, 0.00)
  colorSea    (0.30, 0.25, 0.22, 0.00)
  colorShelf    (0.37, 0.31, 0.28, 0.00)
  colorBeach    (0.54, 0.39, 0.16, 0.00)
  colorDesert    (0.11, 0.25, 0.20, 0.50)
  colorLowland    (0.39, 0.34, 0.28, 0.80)
  colorUpland    (0.07, 0.23, 0.16, 0.20)
  colorRock       (0.60, 0.60, 0.60, 1.00)  
     colorSnow       (1.00, 1.00, 1.00, 1.00)
   
}


I wonder if colors like that could exist in real life.
 
RockoRocksDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:40 | Message # 6
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 674
Status: Offline
I tried doing my own color palette (for Desert planets), that is supposed to resemble Venus' colors.
However, I'm not sure if it worked or not, here is a picture of a planet that is supposed to have it (with atmosphere turned off):

Can anyone tell me if this planet is using a default color palette or not?
On a side note, awesome Palettes Toty! I can't wait for you to do some Terra color palettes smile





I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM


Edited by RockoRocks - Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:41
 
DeathStarDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:47 | Message # 7
Pioneer
Group: Users
Croatia
Messages: 515
Status: Offline
RockoRocks, you can easily disable all other palettes by putting styleRange of all of the other planets to 0.00, 0.00 and the your palettes stylerange to 0.00, 1.00
 
KimbDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:57 | Message # 8
Astronaut
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 66
Status: Offline
Pardon my inexperience at programming, but I have a question regarding the color parambeters. I assume the four values are R (red), G (green), B (blue), and A (alpha); but in what order are they used here? RGBA? BGRA? And does rising alpha INCREASE, or DECREASE, transparenzy?

Edited by Kimb - Sunday, 05.01.2014, 22:59
 
Joey_PenguinDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 23:24 | Message # 9
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
RockoRocks, you can easily disable all other palettes by putting styleRange of all of the other planets to 0.00, 0.00 and the your palettes stylerange to 0.00, 1.00


And you can use the planet editor to fiddle with the SurfStyle and OceanStyle sliders to switch between palettes.





Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
 
DoctorOfSpaceDate: Sunday, 05.01.2014, 23:26 | Message # 10
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
Pirate
Messages: 3600
Status: Offline
Quote Toty ()

// Red-black-grey colors


This one looks neat on Brown Dwarfs






Intel Core i7-5820K 4.2GHz 6-Core Processor
G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC 6GB
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 02:18 | Message # 11
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote Kimb ()
but in what order are they used here? RGBA? BGRA? And does rising alpha INCREASE, or DECREASE, transparenzy?

RGBA, and it works just like it would in any image editor. 1 = 255. So if a value of 255 in the alpha channel gets you an opaque image, then it does the same in SE. Note, however, that alpha doesn't actually control transparency, but specular reflections; higher alpha means stronger reflection, so most of the time you'll want the alpha to be 0.

Also, I love some of those gas giant colors Toty!





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 06.01.2014, 02:31
 
DisasterpieceDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 04:00 | Message # 12
World Builder
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 640
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
Beautiful! I tried making one myself. Not sure if it looks good or like a compete eyesore...

It now has a 1% chance of being used in my copy.





I play teh spase engien
 
WatsisnameDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 06:54 | Message # 13
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 2613
Status: Offline
Wow, these are all very nice. smile That first (blue/white/tan) gas giant is incredible.




 
apenpaapDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 12:26 | Message # 14
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
Fantastic, I didn't know you could do this. I'll get to making a few myself.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 06.01.2014, 13:06 | Message # 15
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Quote DeathStar ()
  StyleRange    (0.00, 0.00)

This will not work! You must give some non-zero range for the palette. I explain how this work:

SE generates a Style value - a random number in a range of 0.0 to 1.0 (for example, Style = 0.435), after this it scan through palettes of current planet's type (for example, gas giant) and found first palette, which StyleRange includes generated Style (for example, if palette have a StyleRange (0.40, 0.50), this Style = 0.435 is fit in it and SE chooses this palette). So to make system working, you must have a list of palettes which StyleRanges making a continuous series from 0.0 to 1.0 and without holes and overlaps. For example, (0.0, 0.3) - (0.3, 0.5) - (0.5, 0.7) - (0.7, 1.0). If StyleRanges will overlap, SE alwaus will choose first palette in the config, if there will be a hole in ranges, behavior will be undefined, if palette will have zero StyleRange width (for example, (0.0, 0.0) or (0.4, 0.4)), it will be completely ignored.

And you may disable palette by simply commenting its code out with C++ style comments:

Code
// commented line of code

code /* commented code inside the line */ code

/* commented
     many
     lines  */





 
Search: