ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
MOD - Creating a Star 0.95
giftDate: Friday, 29.11.2013, 00:13 | Message # 61
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 108
Status: Offline
RemoveStar "ALF Cen A"
RemoveStar "ALF Cen B"

StarBarycenter "New star"
{
RA 19 50 18
Dec 28 18 47
Dist 151.652
}

Barycenter "New star A"
{
ParentBody "New star"
Orbit
{
// Barycenter summary mass: 1.79
// SemiMajorAxis = 10091/2 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 10091/2 * 2 * 1.63/(1.79+1.63)
SemiMajorAxis 4809.45
Period 54689
Eccentricity 0.33 // use typical value
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 98.2 // no data
MeanAnomaly 48.5 // no data
}
}

Barycenter "New star B"
{
ParentBody "New star"
Orbit
{
// Barycenter summary mass: 1.63
// SemiMajorAxis = 10091/2 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 10091/2 * 2 * 1.79/(1.79+1.63)
SemiMajorAxis 5281.55
Period 54689
Eccentricity 0.33 // use typical value
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 278.2 // no data
MeanAnomaly 48.5 // no data
}
}

Star "Hel ALF"
{
ParentBody "New star A"
Class "G2V"
Mass 1.0
Luminosity 1.0 // no data, use typical value of K1V star
Orbit
{
// SemiMajorAxis = 63 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 2 * 63 * 0.79/(1.0+0.79)
SemiMajorAxis 55.6089
Period 333
Eccentricity 0.0 // no data
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 158.2 // no data
MeanAnomaly 228.5 // no data
}
}

Star "Hel BET"
{
ParentBody "New star A"
Class "K1V"
Mass 0.79
Luminosity 0.34 // no data, use typical value of K1V star
Orbit
{
// SemiMajorAxis = 63 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 63 * 2 * 1.0/(1.0+0.79)
SemiMajorAxis 70.3911
Period 333
Eccentricity 0.0 // no data
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 338.2 // no data
MeanAnomaly 228.5 // no data
}
}

Star "Hel GAM"
{
ParentBody "New star B"
Class "G9V"
Mass 0.89
Luminosity 0.43 // no data, use typical value of K1V star
Orbit
{
// SemiMajorAxis = 63 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 70 * 2 * 0.74/(0.89+0.74)
SemiMajorAxis 63.5583
Period 434
Eccentricity 0.0 // no data
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 86.3 // no data
MeanAnomaly 228.5 // no data
}
}

Star "Hel DEL"
{
ParentBody "New star B"
Class "K2V"
Mass 0.74
Luminosity 0.26 // no data, use typical value of K1V star
Orbit
{
// SemiMajorAxis = 63 from map data
// Use correct value from actual mass ratio:
// SemiMajorAxis = 70 * 2 * 0.89/(0.89+0.74)
SemiMajorAxis 76.4417
Period 434
Eccentricity 0.0 // no data
Inclination 0.0 // no data
AscendingNode 0.0 // no data
ArgOfPericenter 266.3 // no data
MeanAnomaly 228.5 // no data
}
}

this is what it looks like.


Edited by gift - Friday, 29.11.2013, 00:15
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 29.11.2013, 10:16 | Message # 62
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
You must describe stars in a catalog located in catalogs/planets folder (and do not forgot to include it in the universe.cfg). The catalog located in catalogs/stars folder you must describe only star system position and magnitude/luminosity (only StarBarycenter and RemoveStar is allowed). Read tutorial once again: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-338-1




 
giftDate: Friday, 29.11.2013, 18:42 | Message # 63
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 108
Status: Offline
Thanks glad it helped.
 
Chris94Date: Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 05:22 | Message # 64
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
I have some problem generating a triple star system. There is only one star that is appearing up and that is the A star. Can someone try and see what's the problem? The code is below, for the barycenter and the stars.

Barycenter
Code
StarBarycenter    "Lara System"   
{   
                             RA 21 31 33.52
                             Dec -05 34 16.25
                             Dist     2.02
                             NoPlanets true
}


stars
Code
Star    "Lara A"
{
          ParentBody "Lara System"
          AppMagn 8.5
          Class     "O2 V"
          NoPlanets true      // disable generation of procedural planetary system
          Orbit   
          {
          Type               "Static"
          Period             0.000001
          SemiMajorAxis      0.0     // Semimajor axis in astronomical units
          }
}

Star    "Lara B"
{
          ParentBody "Lara System"
          AppMagn 7.5                 // visual magnitude
          Class     "M3 V"   // Spectral class
          NoPlanets true      // disable generation of procedural planetary system
          Orbit   
          {    
          Period             5.0
          SemiMajorAxis      5.9     // mass ratio 1.09:0.92
}

Star    "Lara C"
{
          ParentBody "Lara System"
          AppMagn 14.6
          Class     "O4V"
          NoPlanets true      // disable generation of procedural planetary system
          Orbit   
          {
          Period             29.0
          SemiMajorAxis      120.0
          Inclination        18.5     // mass ratio 1.09:0.92
          }
}


Edited by Chris94 - Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 05:22
 
apenpaapDate: Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 15:02 | Message # 65
World Builder
Group: Users
Antarctica
Messages: 1063
Status: Offline
You forgot to close the brackets under Orbit in Lara B's code.




I occasionally stream at http://www.twitch.tv/magistermystax. Sometimes SE, sometimes other games.
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 01.01.2014, 15:15 | Message # 66
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Also, "NoPlanets true" should be removed, since the stars themselves should be in a "planets" catalog, and therefore will prevent generation of procedural planets already.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
giftDate: Sunday, 02.02.2014, 18:50 | Message # 67
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 108
Status: Offline
how do i create a star with life on planets.
 
JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 02.02.2014, 19:03 | Message # 68
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 387
Status: Offline
You can't. You can only create individual planets with life.




They let me use this!
 
giftDate: Sunday, 02.02.2014, 19:19 | Message # 69
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 108
Status: Offline
Quote
You can't. You can only create individual planets with life.

whats that suppose to mean like created planets with sc files?
 
JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 02.02.2014, 19:38 | Message # 70
Pioneer
Group: Translators
Portugal
Messages: 387
Status: Offline
Quote gift ()
whats that suppose to mean like created planets with sc files?


Yes. There's no way to define procedurally in the star definition that its system must have life.





They let me use this!
 
Chris94Date: Friday, 07.02.2014, 18:55 | Message # 71
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
Okay, i created a very interesting star that is not originally in Space Engine. The star Gliese 710, currently located 63.8 light-years away from Earth. In about 1.36 million years, the orange dwarf star Gliese 710 will pass our Sun within only 1 light-year. It is possibly it will come closer than that. It will pass right within the Oort Cloud, which contains icy comets, a sphere surrounding the Sun in 1 light-year distance.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gliese_710

Code
Star    "Gliese 710"
{
   RA 18 19 50.84215
          Dec -01 56 18.9841
   Dist    20.2
   AbsMag 8.23
          Mass 0.6
   Class  "K7 Vk"
          NoPlanets true
}


Here's an image of how close it will probably be in about 1.36 million years

Attachments: 6012373.jpg (267.3 Kb)


Edited by Chris94 - Friday, 07.02.2014, 18:55
 
RockoRocksDate: Saturday, 08.02.2014, 00:50 | Message # 72
World Builder
Group: Users
Belgium
Messages: 674
Status: Offline
Chris94, you can't put "K7 Vk" as the spectral class, it must simply be "K7 V"




I will be inactive on this forum for the time being. Might come back eventually

AMD AR-3305M APU w/ Radeon HD 1.90 GHz 6,00 GB RAM
 
Chris94Date: Saturday, 08.02.2014, 01:12 | Message # 73
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
Quote RockoRocks ()
Chris94, you can't put "K7 Vk" as the spectral class, it must simply be "K7 V"


At first, i thought that was possible. Doesn't Space Engine has the class "K7 Vk"?
Because that is the spectral class to Gliese 710.


Edited by Chris94 - Saturday, 08.02.2014, 01:12
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Saturday, 08.02.2014, 03:49 | Message # 74
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
The k is rarely encountered and is irrelevant to the actual properties of the star, so there's no reason to include it.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
Chris94Date: Saturday, 08.02.2014, 04:00 | Message # 75
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Norway
Messages: 118
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
The k is rarely encountered and is irrelevant to the actual properties of the star, so there's no reason to include it.


Thank you very much, that helped smile
 
Search: