Tools and Utilities ...
|
|
JackDole | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 17:48 | Message # 1 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| You can post here your scripts and utilities that you made and used to work with SpaceEngine.
Some links to other tools which I consider useful and interesting.
Chemical Composition Excel Sheet
The Space Engine Story Teller V1.3: IN-GAME READOUTS (kinda)
Systems & Discoveries Database
I'm starting ...
AsterRingMaker
This is a .bat script I use a to make asteroid rings. Rings with 2,000 objects take on my computer about 6 minutes.
It's a bit complicated, because for each ring a number of parameters have to be manually changed.
Furthermore, an external program to generate floating-point numbers is needed because an MS-Dos batch file can not. I use a Lua script for it. If you have Lua on your computer, you can use the attached script. Otherwise you need any other calculating program that prints its results to the console. You must then replace 'Lua lcalc.lua' in 'AsterRingMaker.bat' with path and name of your Calculator.
It would be best, of course, if someone would create a real program with an input mask.
I also attach a sample script that I created with this.
abrasax GUI version
Python versions:
FaceDeers version: http://pastebin.com/PWcb2Pbi
AsterbeltCreator Version 0.3.1. Works with Python 2.x and 3.x.
C++ GUI version by Przeszczep:
- GITHub - Latest release
List of other Tools:
lassekronborg522: Atmosphere Analyzer tool Description here.
Don't forget to look here.
Edited by JackDole - Thursday, 05.05.2016, 07:00 |
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 22:44 | Message # 2 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote abrasax ( ) I'll try to make it. It will be in flash and ugly, but it will have a UI. Good
Quote abrasax ( ) Is there something other than the stuff in your batch file I should add for parameters? For me the whole thing, as it is sufficient.
Quote abrasax ( ) Is there a need to create multiple rings at the same time? If you can do it, nothing speaks against it.
Quote abrasax ( ) Somehow randomize the limits? The values are randomized within the limits.
Quote abrasax ( ) Could you go into it in a bit more detail? Not really.
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
LookAtDatDakka | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 22:54 | Message # 3 |
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
| This thread should be pinned!
NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
|
|
| |
abrasax | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 23:33 | Message # 4 |
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
| http://abrasax.users.sbb.rs/seasteroidgen.swf
Test it. I don't even know where to put the file it outputs :D
Edit: No need to test it it doesn't work :D. Give me a minute...
question: (1+%random%)/32768 is this just random from 0 to 1? and why 32760 for argofpericen?
Edited by abrasax - Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 23:49 |
|
| |
LookAtDatDakka | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 23:52 | Message # 5 |
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
| JackDole, how do I use AsterRingGen in Lua?
NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
|
|
| |
abrasax | Date: Tuesday, 15.03.2016, 23:56 | Message # 6 |
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
| Assuming 32760 was a typo it should work now the same as your script. I hope you don't mind I put all your sample values as default values. Please test it and give me suggestions to make it better.
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 00:28 | Message # 7 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote abrasax ( ) question: (1+%random%)/32768 is this just random from 0 to 1? and why 32760 for argofpericen? %RANDOM% is an environment variable in MS-Dos batch files that provides a random value between 0 and 32767. In order to provide a value between 0 and 1; 1 must be added, and the result must be divided by 32768. But this is only possible with an additional program that can process floating point numbers.
32760 is a typo.
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
abrasax | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 00:32 | Message # 8 |
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Serbia
Messages: 33
Status: Offline
| So can you test it and let me know if something needs to be fixed or changed or added?
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 00:55 | Message # 9 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote abrasax ( ) So can you test it and let me know if something needs to be fixed or changed or added? Very good. It works. And it is much faster than the .bat program.
Is there any source code?
Don't forget to look here.
Edited by JackDole - Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 01:02 |
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 00:58 | Message # 10 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote LookAtDatDakka ( ) how do I use AsterRingGen in Lua Do you mean AsterRingMaker.bat? Not Lua uses this program, but this program uses the script lcalc.lua when it is in the same directory. And of course, Lua must be installed in the system.
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
LookAtDatDakka | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 01:12 | Message # 11 |
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
| Quote JackDole ( ) Do you mean AsterRingMaker.bat? Not Lua uses this program, but this program uses the script lcalc.lua when it is in the same directory. And of course, Lua must be installed in the system.
How do I install Lua to work with your script?
NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 01:39 | Message # 12 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote LookAtDatDakka ( ) How do I install Lua to work with your script? Here you can download Lua.
But you no longer need my script, you can use the program of abrasax. For this you do not need Lua.
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
LookAtDatDakka | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 02:00 | Message # 13 |
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 156
Status: Offline
| abrasax, what about generating object other than asteroids?
NVIDIA 960 GTX 2048MB
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 03:37 | Message # 14 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Quote LookAtDatDakka ( ) what about generating object other than asteroids In principle, it is possible to create comets with this program. Here I have created a few comets for Toliman A (Alf Cen A).
Maybe a few too many.
I used these settings for it.
When the script is created, you have to open it in a text editor; and with Replace all 'Asteroid "C' replace by 'Comet "C'.
It should look something like this:
Code Comet "C 1" { ParentBody "Toliman A" Class "Asteroid" Radius 7.2117724805139005 Orbit { Epoch 2457395.5 SemiMajorAxis 2.180736281396821 Eccentricity 0.31757065607234836 Inclination 102.95168509706855 AscendingNode 172.88731696084142 ArgOfPericen 133.31986024975777 MeanAnomaly 0 RefPlane "Ecliptic" } }
Comet "C 2" { ... ...
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
FaceDeer | Date: Wednesday, 16.03.2016, 04:13 | Message # 15 |
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Canada
Messages: 117
Status: Offline
| To jump in on the asteroid fest, I whipped up my own version of Jack's script in Python with a few more bells and whistles. You can find my version of the script here:
AsterRingMaker.py
I added a few more parameters, including the ability to set some or all of your asteroids rotating - in real life asteroids are not tide-locked with the Sun. I also used a Gaussian probability distribution for most of the value ranges instead of a uniform one, though I left a bit of code in there for people who want to use uniform distribution.
Hope you don't mind, Jack. I'd actually been thinking of making something like this for some time now, you gave me the kick in the pants I needed.
|
|
| |