ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
  • Page 3 of 3
  • «
Forum » SpaceEngine » Development Status » [Contest] Default ships for SE 0.972 (Submissions are closed!)
[Contest] Default ships for SE 0.972
QnziDate: Monday, 01.09.2014, 09:31 | Message # 31
Observer
Group: Users
China
That's coool. I'm not a good programmer, but I'm looking forward to the contest!

HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 24.11.2014, 13:42 | Message # 32
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
dampflok01, some feedback on your ships:

Condor is cool, but it causes too much of a performance penalty (I get 18 fps with it).

I like Romulus too, but it also has some performance issues. There are a few things you could probably remove from it:

The gold hyperdrive rings are probably not needed (I'm not sure what purpose they're serving there anyway)

Maybe try cutting back on the antennas. Try one on each side instead of 5.

Ultimately though the real killer is probably shields and trusses. If there's anything you can do to trim those even a little it would probably give a large performance boost.

All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM

parameciumkidDate: Monday, 24.11.2014, 21:01 | Message # 33
Explorer
United States
I'd like to submit my thingy from the other thread here:

Download
- The rings are admittedly smaller than in most of the other concepts, but my rationalization is that through technological advancements its creators found a way to warp space more efficiently and with a smaller device. Perhaps the exotic matter in it is more dense than in other designs? I dunno :\
- The torpedoes undock and push themselves sideways a bit before accelerating to full speed.
- The radiators are placed in that parallel configuration to minimize losses in effectiveness due to radiating toward one another (ignoring the inside faces anyway).