ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Addon Development Thread
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 23.04.2015, 10:59 | Message # 361
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
astroniki, I moved your post here. M42 was very much in need of an update, I like it, great job so far.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
astronikiDate: Thursday, 23.04.2015, 12:07 | Message # 362
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Thanks, somehow i missed this thread.
I'll be of doing the entire Orion Complex.





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Thursday, 23.04.2015, 13:45 | Message # 363
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote astroniki ()
Thanks, somehow i missed this thread.

It was pretty buried before, I just stickied it.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
BambusmanDate: Thursday, 23.04.2015, 14:29 | Message # 364
Pioneer
Group: SE team
Germany
Messages: 408
Status: Offline
astroniki,
this looks much better then the standart good work surprised
 
astronikiDate: Sunday, 10.05.2015, 23:15 | Message # 365
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
So, how do i add clusters?


Attachments: 8252295.jpg (548.1 Kb)





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1


Edited by astroniki - Sunday, 10.05.2015, 23:16
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Monday, 11.05.2015, 07:30 | Message # 366
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
astroniki, just as nebulae. You can use 2 types - "Open" and "Globular", control their size (Radius), population (NStars for open clusters), center-to-periphery density ratio (CenPow), and overall star color by set up a proper age (Age, in million years). You can also change the starlike sprite color, for example make it black to disable the sprite (Color). Examples:

Normal open cluster:

Code

Cluster    "CHI Per/NGC 884/OCL 353"
{
  Galaxy  "Milky Way"
  Type    "Open"
  RA       2.37305556
  Dec      57.1258333
  Dist     2940
  Radius   7.782
  AppMagn  6.1
  NStars   600
  Age      12.59
  CenPow   1.2
}


Normal globular cluster:

Code

Cluster    "47 Tuc/NGC 104"
{
  Galaxy  "Milky Way"
  Type    "Globular"
  RA       0.401444444
  Dec     -72.0808333
  Dist     4500
  Radius   28.05
  AbsMagn -9.42
  CenPow   2.03
}


Special case: Pleiades have no starlike particle and all stars are already in the catalog:

Code

Cluster    "Pleiades/M 45/NGC 1432/Melotte 22"
{
  Galaxy  "Milky Way"
  Type    "Open"
  RA       3.78333333
  Dec      24.1166667
  Dist     112.0
  Radius   2.322
  AbsMagn -3.6
  Color  ( 0 0 0 ) // disable the starlike sprite
  CenPow   0.5
  Age      135.2
  NStars   0           // disable procedural stars - there are real stars in the catalog
}





 
astronikiDate: Monday, 11.05.2015, 19:47 | Message # 367
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Thank you. now i'm getting progress.
Quote SpaceEngineer ()
and overall star colour by set up a proper age

That doesn't seem right. Setting the age to just a few million years and lowering the brightness gives me just a few blue giants.
Shouldn't the stars get dimmer to compensate for the change of overall brightness to keep the number of stars as i've set them?
I want to put a few hundred red and yellow dwarves stars just a couple million years old inside the nebula.

Also the age of the cluster doesn't seem to affect the age of the stars and planets within, but i guess this is a known issue.





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1


Edited by astroniki - Monday, 11.05.2015, 19:53
 
n0b0dyDate: Wednesday, 13.05.2015, 06:49 | Message # 368
Explorer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 297
Status: Offline
Really looking forward for this addon cry
 
themohawkninjaDate: Sunday, 24.05.2015, 04:53 | Message # 369
Space Tourist
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 21
Status: Offline
I'm going to be expanding the capabilities of the stories in my Space Engine Story Teller addon to allow things like bulleted lists and such. As a result of the increased complexity, I'm going to write a little editor to make it far faster to implement stories.

I also think I will write a little auto-formating tool for the variable libraries, just to make copy-pasting giant lists from wikis a bit less tedious to format.

It's too bad that I am not a far more experienced/professional programmer, as I had originally dreamed (yes, this program was from a dream I had) up this program as a feature inside of Space Engine, as part of the right-click menu on a body.
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Wednesday, 27.05.2015, 12:15 | Message # 370
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 542
Status: Offline
Quote Voekoevaka ()
Yes, my tiles have a 130 pixel width and height, and I put "AddExtraData" to true on the cubemap config. On catalog files, TileBorder=1 and TileSize=130.

I finished my program and it works well. If you have good .obj/.3ds models of asteroids/moons, I can create bump maps for these (I am searching for Hyperion). I have already models for : Bacchus, Epimetheus, Janus, Larissa, Nereid, Pandora, Phoebe, Prometheus and Proteus, but if you have good models, I'll be glad to take it because some of mine are very low res.


A tutorial could be created for all developers to use your program? smile
 
ZatSoloDate: Tuesday, 09.06.2015, 19:37 | Message # 371
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 111
Status: Offline
Quote astroniki ()
... i'm pimping out M42 and i want to add a dim cluster of stars in it. I guess most of them are about mag 16 as seen from Earth. Also, enjoy this work in progress pic:

Amazing! Thank you happy
 
astronikiDate: Friday, 12.06.2015, 20:23 | Message # 372
Space Pilot
Group: SE team
Poland
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
Thanks! I think i might be ready to release this in a few days. I still want to add M78 and the Witch Head Nebula.
Here's the current progress:







Still look decent from the sides:

Attachments: 3297890.jpg (279.6 Kb) · 6652760.jpg (278.3 Kb) · 3570462.jpg (478.0 Kb) · 9678644.jpg (447.3 Kb)





Check out my astrophotography:
http://www.astroniki.fbl.pl
http://www.facebook.com/AstroNiki1


Edited by astroniki - Friday, 12.06.2015, 20:33
 
LoggDate: Wednesday, 05.08.2015, 14:18 | Message # 373
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
I've got a question that isn't in the FAQ or docs, and I can't find any information about it on these forums. I'd make a new thread, but I don't know how long a new user is supposed to wait around to make one; I'm not sure it belongs in any existing thread, so "addon development" sticky seems to be the closest. I went through all 16 pages of threads that came up in a search of "places.cfg", so I think it's okay to ask now.

My question is regarding the format of the data in places.cfg.
"What are the units, limits, and meaning of the Pos and Rot data in places.cfg?"

For reference, here's an example of a location from places.cfg:

Code
Place    "Mercury00"
{
    Body    "Mercury"
    Parent    "Sol"
    Pos  (-1.703568261392403e-010, -7.995280707027291e-012, -2.334486483247453e-010)              // These
    Rot  (-0.3376064736453692, -0.0004736251320258012, 0.9412845838829038, 0.002230868970016889)  // Lines
    Date    "2015.08.04 13:50:25.57"
    Vel  5.0526149e-011
    Mode    1
}


Pos is some positional data relative to the object referred to by the Body and Parent line.
There are 3 values, which are probably X Y and Z, but maybe not in that order.

It would be helpful to know which one is X Y and Z, and how they relate to planet, and the equatorial grid.
Where are X/Y/Z measured from? e.g. The top of the planet? The center of its core?
Which way are X/Y/Z in relation to the in-game Equatorial Grid? e.g. Is it toward 0h +0°? 0h+90°? 6h+0°?
How do these Pos values relate to the in-game debug menu values LocalRelPos and relPos? I checked, and this new relative position is not either of those.
Is there a limit on how big/small X/Y/Z can be?

Rot is the rotation data of the camera.
There are 4 values with a range between -1 and 1. They are the same values as in the debug menu's "Quat" variable, which makes it a little bit more easy to figure out.

The first value seems to change when I rotate the camera left to right. Moving the camera up and down seems to change all 3 of the other values.
Please clarify what each value is actually measuring, and if possible, relate it to the in-game Equatorial Grid.

Thanks in advance for any replies.


Edited by Logg - Wednesday, 05.08.2015, 14:19
 
SpaceEngineerDate: Friday, 21.08.2015, 06:48 | Message # 374
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Pos is (x,y,z) position, units is parsecs, relative to the following object's center. Orientation is global, ie the same as the equatorial grid:
y is toward celestial north pole (~Polaris star)
x is toward 6h right ascention (~Orion constellation)
z is toward 0h right ascention
Note: in the next version Pos components will be in the 128-bit fixed point format, saved as a long hexadecimal numbers (like camera position in the user.cfg).

Quat is orientation quaternion





 
LoggDate: Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 10:51 | Message # 375
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Thanks for your response. smile I was able to sort of understand Quats from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki....ations, and I guessed that since the first one always changes, the format in space engine might be

(theta, x, y, z)

And also maybe x, y, z are the same as you described for Pos.

From observation... (0,0,1,0) & (0, 0, -1, 0) is looking directly at 0h 0°.
(0,1,0,0) is looking at 0h 0° but upside down.

(-1, 0, 0, 0) & (0, 0, 0, 0) & (1, 0, 0, 0) is looking directly at 12h 0°.
(0,0,0,1) is looking at 12h 0° but upside down.

It seems the quat in the debug menu is not exactly the same as the quat in places.cfg, or at least when loaded it converts invalid quats to a more sensible quat...
For example, manually typing (0.5, 0, -0.5, 0) in places.cfg brings up (0.707, 0, -0.707,0) in the debug menu. I recognize 0.707 as sqrt(2)/2, but I don't know how to use that.

Could you elaborate on Quats in Space Engine some more please?

The Pos information was perfect, I'm able to precisely position myself now, it's just that the camera angle is not easy to control. I want to always be looking directly at the planet.

P.S. Is there a way to load locations from the console/scripting?


Edited by Logg - Tuesday, 25.08.2015, 10:55
 
Forum » SpaceEngine » Mods and Addons » Addon Development Thread (Discuss new addons you're developing)
Search: