ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.8.0
SpaceEngineerDate: Saturday, 30.07.2016, 13:34 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • First of all, make sure you updated your video card drivers. This may solve 99% of all issues.
  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help us to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing graphics card-specific issues

    If you do not know which graphics card (chip) do you have, open the system/se.log file in the text editor and read the Vendor information in the beginning:

    INITIALIZING OPENGL
    [MT] Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.


    Then look for a solution for you:

    Nvidia: Major lag spikes


    Intel HD: Glitchy landscape and textures on planets


    Intel HD: Red clouds on Earth


    Intel HD: Black screen




    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers


    2) Weak system


    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)


    4) Artifacts on procedural planets


    5) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface


    6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets


    7) Problems with very high resolution displays




    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:


    Real bugs:





  •  
    parameciumkidDate: Monday, 08.08.2016, 16:30 | Message # 91
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 277
    Status: Offline
    I think I found my bug!
    I read that SE 0.9.8.0 added new nebulae, so I tried turning those off. No dice.
    So I wondered if it was to do with the new "medium" black hole quality setting, although I doubted it. Also no effect.
    So in desperation I tried turning on and off all sorts of other view settings until I got to turning off...
    COMET TAILS.
    (I'm not sure why I thought turning off comet tails wasn't helping before.)
    The system I'd found, as well as the other two with which I'd run tests, all involved "comet" tails emanating from planets very close to the stars. I don't know what it is exactly, but apparently SE 0.9.8.0 changed its way of rendering comet tails such that they crash the game sometimes.

    The good news is that for now I seem to have found a workaround that'll keep me able to play the game. The bad news is that I guess I have to say goodbye to comets :\





    Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P

    Edited by parameciumkid - Monday, 08.08.2016, 16:45
     
    JackDoleDate: Monday, 08.08.2016, 19:01 | Message # 92
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Quote SpaceEngineer ()
    Quote SpaceHopper ()
    And here's something else I found...R136a1 (which is supposed to be a single star) is bifurcated in 0.980. I hope this gets fixed in the next version. And I wonder if anyone else has seen bifurcated catalog single stars in 0.980.

    Catalog stars are not bifurcated since 0.972. If you find a binary catalog star, this mean what it is indeed binary. Cirax made huge work making the binary stars catalog for SE.

    'R136a1' is not as a binary star in the catalog!

    I think that's a problem with Wolf-Rayet stars. It looks as if SpaceEngine makes in 'SE 0.980' all Wolf-Rayet stars to binary stars.


    In this script are some Wolf-Rayet stars from the central cluster of the Tarantua nebula. They all become binary stars!

    Code

    // R136 cluster stars
    // https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136
    // R136a1,5.645108333,-69.100808333,49970,12.28,WN5,-8.09,53000,8710000,315,,

    // https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136a2
    Star    "R136a2/MH 511/RMC 136a2/HSH95 5/BAT99 109/CHH92 2"
    {
        RA          05 38 42.45
        Dec         -69 06 02.2
        Dist        49000      //48500       //50000
        AppMagn     13.38
        Luminosity  4266000
        Class       "WN5"       //"WN5h"
        MassSol     195
        RadSol      23.4
        Temperature 53000
        Age         0.0003
    }

    // https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136a3
    Star    "R136a3/RMC 136a3/BAT99 106"
    {
        RA          05 38 42.291
        Dec         -69 06 03.45
        Dist        49000      //48500       //49970
        AppMagn     12.93
        Luminosity  3802000
        Class       "WN5"       //"WN5h"
        MassSol     180
        RadSol      19
        Temperature 53000
        Age         0.0003
    }

    Star    "R136c/BAT99 112/RMC 136c"
    {
        RA          05 38 42.9162
        Dec         -69 06 04.938
        Dist        49000      //48500       //49970
        AppMagn     12.86
        Luminosity  5623000
        Class       "WN5"       //"WN5h"
        MassSol     230
        RadSol      18.4
        Temperature 51000
        Age         0.0017
    }

    //------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    // http://simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad/sim-id?Ident=RMC%20136b
    Star    "BAT99 111/BAT99 111/RMC 136b/NGC 2070 MH 637"
    {
        RA          05 38 42.765
        Dec         -69 06 03.36
        Dist        49000      //48500       //49970
        AppMagn     13.66
        Class       "WN9"       //"WN9ha"
        
        // https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R136b
        MassSol     93
        RadSol      22.3
        Temperature 41000
        Age         0.0015
    }



    Quote PlutonianEmpire ()
    Eta Carinae is also bifurcated in 0.98, with planets, and yes my star bifurcation is set to false.

    It is also a 'Wolf-Rayet' star!





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    PlutonianEmpireDate: Monday, 08.08.2016, 23:13 | Message # 93
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 475
    Status: Offline
    I am trying to tweak the SolarSystemGenerator settings in main-user.cfg, however they seem to have no effect, such as increasing the ProbDryOceania. I set it to 99.0, and the ratio of terras to oceanias remains the same as when the parameter is default (0.1). Bug?

    Edit: Clearing the cache doesn't help either.

    Edit 2: An unrelated bug is that Space Engine does not seem to be calculating bolometric luminosity. While keeping absmagn and radius the same for a star or binary stars, adding three zeroes to a temperature of 5000 to raise it to 5000000 does not seem to have an affect on nearby planets. Is anyone else seeing this?





    Specs: Dell Inspiron 5547 (Laptop); 8 gigabytes of RAM; Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-4210U CPU @ 1.70GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz; Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit; Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 4400 (That's all there is :( )

    Edited by PlutonianEmpire - Tuesday, 09.08.2016, 06:35
     
    HornblowerDate: Wednesday, 10.08.2016, 17:44 | Message # 94
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 714
    Status: Offline
    Why so many sunspots on the sun? Very unrealistic

    Attachments: 4888858.jpg (40.8 Kb)
     
    HornblowerDate: Thursday, 11.08.2016, 01:49 | Message # 95
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 714
    Status: Offline
    The telescope mode won't zoom in as far
     
    YpeDate: Thursday, 11.08.2016, 21:23 | Message # 96
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Netherlands
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    I subscribed to this forum to share my experience with a problem in SE 0.9.8.0. But before I do so, let me start with saying that I find SE the best software I have ever seen. Traveling through space was a dream of mine since I was a young boy. SE makes this virtually possible. Great! Many thanks for this wonderful program.

    Now, I have experienced (like others) blackouts in SE 0.9.8.0. Everything but the cursor disappears now and then. This never occurs in the inter-galactic space but always near or in solar systems.
    I found out that if I uncheck the comet tail option (in the F4 menu), the blackouts stop happening.

    I use Windows 10 on an Acer laptop and according to se.log my renderer is Intel® HD Graphics 4400. I hope this helps with solving the problem.

    Let me end this with once again expressing my great appreciation for SE!
     
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 10:09 | Message # 97
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Quote Ype ()
    I hope this helps with solving the problem.

    The only correct solution would probably be a new graphics card. Either Nvidia or AMD.

    Also, updating the driver might help somewhat. Sometimes.

    Intel video cards work with some luck. particularly the newer cards, but SpaceEngine is not optimized for these graphics cards.
    You can not expect that with an Intel-card everything is displayed as it should.

    And you should always attach the SE.log here if you have problems with SpaceEngine.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    YpeDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 11:43 | Message # 98
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Netherlands
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    Quote JackDole ()
    And you should always attach the SE.log here if you have problems with SpaceEngine.

    Okay, here is my SE.log file.

    Attachments: 9485046.log (169.6 Kb)
     
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 12:43 | Message # 99
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Ype,
    something is definitely wrong.

    This can be seen from the fact that 1208 times this line:
    Code
    [MT] WARNING: System of star "Sgr A*" appears multiple times in the render list!

    appears in your log file.

    I have no idea what could be the cause.
    I can not check if this has something to do with the Intel card.
    My Intel card - I have a hybrid card (ATI + Intel HD) - is so old, the SE is no longer running on it.

    I would recommend that you delete the 'cache' folder. 'SpaceEngine\cache', and then control whether this warning still appears.





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    YpeDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 13:23 | Message # 100
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Netherlands
    Messages: 8
    Status: Offline
    Hi Jack,

    I deleted the cache folder. But SE reacts just the same: with comet tails it goes black now and then, and after disabling them it works fine.

    Now the message about Sgr A* doesn't show up in the log file anymore.

    I am very reluctant to change graphics cards. Changing a well working computer is always a risk. For now I will use SE without the comet tails.

    Thanks for your help.

    Attachments: 8272934.log (63.7 Kb)


    Edited by Ype - Friday, 12.08.2016, 13:27
     
    JackDoleDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 13:55 | Message # 101
    Star Engineer
    Group: Local Moderators
    Germany
    Messages: 1742
    Status: Offline
    Actually you're lucky with your Intel card. I just tried my Intel HD 3000.

    I get something like this:



    That which can not be seen, is the earth.

    With some previous versions of SE, I did not even get that far. dry

    Attachments: 8538540.jpg (175.2 Kb)





    Don't forget to look here.

     
    parameciumkidDate: Friday, 12.08.2016, 20:47 | Message # 102
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 277
    Status: Offline
    I can corroborate that the blackout bug is not the fault of old Intel cards. People are always quick to blame those, but note that 0.9.7.4 did not have these, and the changelog since 0.9.7.4 doesn't seem to include any new graphical features that would affect comet tails or anything else in the systems where blackouts occur.
    I recall that in the past there was a bug wherein comet tails would appear as black rectangles, so I have come to suspect that the blackout might be a case of a comet tail rendering as a black rectangle and also covering the screen.





    Intel HD Graphics 4000 ;P
     
    ThedarkflyDate: Saturday, 13.08.2016, 16:02 | Message # 103
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Belgium
    Messages: 3
    Status: Offline
    Hi, I encountered a problem with the system chart of a very large system (1362 bodies). At the end of the chart, several small bodies are put at the same spot, fusing them together and forming a clump. We can also see that their names are superposed.



    Thanks for the excellent work, I'm always very excited to see what's new.

    Attachments: 7650174.jpg (176.2 Kb)
     
    thunde73Date: Sunday, 14.08.2016, 21:13 | Message # 104
    Observer
    Group: Newbies
    Pirate
    Messages: 2
    Status: Offline
    Space-engine crash at random times for me.
    I have no mods or addons installed.

    Attachments: 3668667.log (473.7 Kb)
     
    Tac1017Date: Monday, 15.08.2016, 18:49 | Message # 105
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 167
    Status: Offline
    When I go to play, and I hit planetarium, it crashes on me. Here's my laptop if interested:

    https://www.amazon.com/Toshiba....ie=UTF8





    The Terra Hunter of the Milky Way!

    (By the way, I was born in 2001, NOT 1972 XD)
     
    Search: