ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Lag Reduction
ChromeworkDate: Monday, 01.06.2015, 23:11 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Antarctica
Messages: 3
Status: Offline
When my computer was only 4 GB, the lag was unbearably bad, and since I've upgraded to 8 GB, it's much better, but it's still there and pretty annoying, primarily when close to a planet, especially gas giants.

I have compressed textures on, but I'm not sure what other settings would reduce lag even more. Any ideas?
 
sergejzivkovicDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 11:14 | Message # 2
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
You can disable Aurora shader,antialiasing,v-sync and 'compress textures'...You can replace your main.cfg with this code(Open main.cfg with notepad program,then replace everything with these):
Main.cfg

//////////////////////////////////////////////////
// SpaceEngine main configuration file //
//////////////////////////////////////////////////

// display settings
WindowSizeX 1280 // window width
WindowSizeY 720 // window height
WindowPosX 0 // window x position
WindowPosY 0 // window y position
Maximized true // start with a maximized window
FullScreen 2 // 0 - window mode, 1 - fullscreen window mode, 2 - hardware fullscreen mode
ChangeMode true // use fullscreen mode with custom display resolution
ScreenResX 1280 // screen resolution (width) in the hardware fullscreen mode
ScreenResY 720 // screen resolution (height) in the hardware fullscreen mode
DisplayRefresh 60 // refresh frequency in the fullscreen mode
AspectRatio 1 // aspect ratio for displays with non-square pixels

// OpenGL settings
InitInShutterMode false // when changing to the hardware shutter stereoscopic mode, the engine should be restarted with this key set to true
VSync 0 // vertical synchronization (0 - disabled, 1 - enabled, 2 - auto)
AnisotropyLevel 0 // anisotropy filtering level (0 - disable anisotropy)
LineWidth 2.0 // lines width
DepthBufferMode 0 // Z-buffer mode (0 - standard, 1 - log in vertex shader, 2 - log in pixel shader) (remove cache to apply changes)
ShipDrawMode 1 // use 1 for DepthBufferMode = 0, and 2 or 3 otherwise

// memory settings
VideoMemoryStartupDetect false // detect size physical video memory (VRAM) at startup
VideoMemoryDynamicDetect false // detect available amount of video memory (VRAM) in runtime
VideoMemorySize 1024 // video memory size to use if VideoMemoryStartupDetect = false
VideoMemoryMaxPercent 100 // max video memory consumption (percent)
CacheSizeLandNode 10000 // limit on the number of terrain nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 4000 for LOD 0, 10000 for LOD 2)
CacheSizeStarNode 50000 // limit on the number of star nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 20000 for center regions of the galaxy)
CacheSizeGalNode 10000 // limit on the number of galaxy nodes in the memory (0 for auto, at least 10000 for dense regions of the Universe)
CacheSizeGalaxySysModel 20 // limit on the number of galaxy subsystem models in the memory
CacheSizeClusterStarModel 1000 // limit on the number of star cluster models in the memory

// interface settings
GUIMode 2 // text info mode
GUIMessageTime 2000 // splash message duration (milliseconds)
GUIPlanThumbSize 120 // size of solar system browser thumbnails
GUIHardwareCursor true // use hardware cursor or rendered by engine
GUICursorSize 16 // textured cursor size
GUIJournalSize 100 // maximum size of autopilot journal
GUIBottomInfoHUD false // draw bottom HUD

// texture rendering settings
TRMaxImpostors 16 // max number of impostors
TRMaxSkyBoxes 1 // max number of skyboxes
TRFloat true // use floating-point impostors (for HDR)
TRImpResolution 0.500 // impostor resolution (fraction of window width)
TRSkyResolution 0.750 // skybox resolution (fraction of window width)
TRImpUpdateThreshold 0.005 // impostor update threshold
TRSkyUpdateThreshold 0.0006 // skybox update threshold
TRSkyMinFOV 20.0 // skybox min FOV
TRSkyMaxStep 1e-7 // skybox max velocity (normalized on object's radius)
TRFishEyeFaceResolution 1024 // fish eye skybox resolution
TRLensFlareConvRadius 3 // "super" lens flare convolution radius

// atmosphere settings
AtmoAnalyticTransm true // use analytic transmittance calculations (remove cache to apply changes)
AtmoFixHorizon true // fixes artifacts at horizon (remove cache to apply changes)
AtmoBottomOffset 0.0 // shift atmosphere down to fix artifacts at horizon (in units of atmosphere height)

// planets settings
PlanetMipmaps true // use mipmapping for landscape textures
PlanetTextureRes 128 // texture resolution (use only power of 2!)
PlanetTextureBorder 1 // texture border
PlanetSphereMeshLOD 5 // spherical mesh detail
PlanetCubeMeshLOD 5 // landscape mesh detail
PlanetRingsSubdiv 16 // planetary rings detail
PlanetCloudsTerra 3 // max number of cloud layers for terrestrial planets
PlanetCloudsGasGiant 7 // max number of cloud layers for gas giant planets
PlanetDetailCraters 3.0 // approx. min radius of craters on terrestrial planets (kilometers)
PlanetDetailTerra 0.01 // approx. per vertex detail on terrestrial planets (kilometers)
PlanetDetailAsteroid 0.001 // approx. per vertex detail on asteroids (kilometers)
PlanetDetailClouds 0.1 // approx. per vertex detail on clouds (kilometers)
PlanetDetailGasGiant 1.0 // approx. per vertex detail on gas giant planets (kilometers)
PlanetDetailSun 1.0 // approx. per vertex detail on stars surface (kilometers)
PlanetDetailTexScale 16384 // scale of detail textures
PlanetDetailTextures true // use detail noise textures (remove cache to apply changes)

// stars settings
StarColorShift 0.0 // color shift ("+" red, "-" blue)
StarColorSaturation 1.0 // color saturation
StarFrustumClipFOV 30.0 // max frustum clipping FOV
StarSolTexBright 2.1 // surface texture brightness (temperature) multiplier

// magnitude limit settings
PlanetMagnLimit 7.0 // planets limiting magnitude
StarMagnLimit 7.0 // stars limiting magnitude
GalaxyMagnLimit 7.0 // galaxies, nebulae and clusters limiting magnitude
GlowMagnLimit 4.0 // galaxies and nebulae sprites limiting magnitude
PlanetBrightMin 0.03 // planets cutoff pixel brightness
StarBrightMin 0.03 // stars cutoff pixel brightness
GalaxyBrightMin 0.03 // galaxies, nebulae and clusters cutoff pixel brightness
GlowBrightMin 0.006 // galaxies and nebulae sprites cutoff pixel brightness

// physics settings
PhysicsTick 0.015 // physics iteration time (seconds)

// screenshots and other settings
ScreenshotFormat "jpg" // screenshot format (jpg, png, dds, tga, tif)
SkyBoxFormat "tga" // skybox export format (jpg, png, dds, tga, tif)
JpegQuality 95 // jpeg compression quality
RealTime true // use RealTime mode (velocity not depend on FPS)
RealTimeFPS 24.0 // RealTime mode velocity calibration (FPS for video capture)
ConvertRGBAtoPNG false // if true, any loaded RGBA or Grayscale images are saved in PNG format in the same directory
NSplashImages 20 // number of splash window textures (data\textures\common\splash*.*)

// debug settings
ShowGalaxiesOctree false // show catalog galaxies octree
ShowCatStarsOctree false // show catalog stars octree
ShowGalSysOctree false // show galaxy subsystems octree
ShowPlanetsQuadtree false // show planets bounding boxes
ShowGalaxiesBBoxes false // show galaxy model bounding boxes
ShowNebulaeBBoxes false // show nebula model bounding boxes

// solution of the compatibility issues
IgnoreCriticalCheck false // ignore checking of OpenGL version and support of critical extensions
IgnoreShaderBinary true // disable binary shader cache
IgnoreSyncObjects false // disable GL_ARB_sync
PlanetHeightmapFormat 13 // format of the terrain heightmap textures: 13 - R32F, 16 - RGBA32F
MipmapsMode 1 // mipmaps generation mode: 0 - disable, 1 - default OpenGL function, 2 - SpaceEngine function

// loading settings
PreloadGalaxies true // preload nearby galaxy models
PreloadShipTextures true // preload ship textures (do not render ship until all its textures get loaded)
PreloadGenShaders 1 // preload procedural generator shaders: 0 - none, 1 - all
PreloadDrawShaders 2 // preload renderer shaders: 0 - none, 1 - all, 2 - some
LoaderBenchmark false // log loading/creating times
LoaderMode 1 // loader mode: 0 - immediate, 1 - interleaved, 2 - asynchronous
LoaderMulticontext true // use miltiple OpenGL contexts
LoaderShadersAsync true // load shaders in asynchronous mode
LoaderQueueSizeGPU 128 // size of loader request queue (landscape tiles)
LoaderQueueSizeCPU 256 // size of loader request queue (all other resources)
LoaderMaxTilesPF 2 // max landscape textures created per frame
LoaderMaxTimePF 20.0 // max loading/creating time per frame (milliseconds)
CleanMaxTimePF 20.0 // max memory cleaning time per frame (milliseconds)
ReplaceDuplicateMat true // for import from OBJ: replace duplicate materials with existing ones
LogTimeStamp false // print time stamp into se.log
LogThreadStamp true // print thread ID into se.log

*It works with all versions*
*Reply if it works*
*Enjoy your Space Journey!*


Edited by sergejzivkovic - Friday, 10.07.2015, 11:19
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 13:39 | Message # 3
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Chromework, you should update to the latest version.




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
sergejzivkovicDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 13:53 | Message # 4
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
Well,is the last version going to change something If it lags on ver. 0.7.2?
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Friday, 10.07.2015, 18:13 | Message # 5
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote sergejzivkovic ()
is the last version going to change something If it lags on ver. 0.7.2?

I have no idea since it doesn't lag for me. But you're using texture compression, which you shouldn't, and at the very least 0.9.7.3 makes that a non-issue. Anyway, the whole point of a patch is to improve the program and fix problems, so you should want to update.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
sergejzivkovicDate: Saturday, 11.07.2015, 14:22 | Message # 6
Observer
Group: Users
Pirate
Messages: 18
Status: Offline
I updated yesterday...And you were right! It works with no lag at all! Thanks bro!
 
the_nerervarineDate: Tuesday, 08.09.2015, 13:20 | Message # 7
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 106
Status: Offline
Quote sergejzivkovic ()
You can disable Aurora shader,antialiasing,v-sync and 'compress textures'...You can replace your main.cfg with this code(Open main.cfg with notepad program,then replace everything with these):
Main.cfg


I'm glad to see that my performance config is still making the rounds and helping people but please give me credit for this config next time you share it smile





AMD FX-8320 8 core @4.0ghz , AMD R9 290 4GB, 8GB DDR3 @1866mhz, 1TB Hard Drive

Edited by the_nerervarine - Tuesday, 08.09.2015, 13:20
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Tuesday, 22.12.2015, 00:18 | Message # 8
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
RandomPlanetInTheGalaxy, the amount of time required to load terrain depends on your LOD setting, screen resolution, and graphics card. Can you give information about these?




All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
cubusmedusaDate: Wednesday, 03.02.2016, 18:09 | Message # 9
Observer
Group: Newbies
Austria
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Hi,
since I am not allowed to open a thread I hope this here is the right thread for this Problem. I use 0.9.7.4 beta without any file modifications. Downloaded the 37gb texture pack for our solar System and copied it to its Destination Folder. From that Point on every time I Approach one of the planets with surface textures the CPU goes into I-kill-myself-at-100% mode and doesnt stop. Usually my LOD was 1.5-2 and everything was fine. Since the texture pack I go down to -1 for moving around and when I reach a place that I like I stop and set LOD higher to enjoy the view. CPU goes to 100% and thats the end. Neither RAM nor GPU go into high loads, only the CPU. the only way to get out is to terminate SE. What can I do to avoid this?

Edit: ok, what I tried sofar: disabled threaded optimization, set videomemorysize in main.cfg to 8000 (4000 VRAM + 4000 RAM, whereas RAM is 8Gb total) - better now but textures look like before install. Do I have to do something in order to get the texture packs in Action?





Intel i7-2600K@4,6GHz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 840 EVO SSD, Asus Strix GTX 970, Corsair TX850W

Edited by cubusmedusa - Wednesday, 03.02.2016, 18:43
 
HarbingerDawnDate: Wednesday, 03.02.2016, 18:46 | Message # 10
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
Quote cubusmedusa ()
I hope this here is the right thread for this Problem. I use 0.9.7.4 beta

Then that would be the thread to post in.

Quote cubusmedusa ()
What can I do to avoid this?

I have this problem too, and the only way to avoid it would seem to be to avoid using a high LOD around Solar system worlds.





All forum users, please read this!
My SE mods and addons
Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
 
cubusmedusaDate: Wednesday, 03.02.2016, 19:59 | Message # 11
Observer
Group: Newbies
Austria
Messages: 9
Status: Offline
Quote HarbingerDawn ()
Quote cubusmedusa ()I hope this here is the right thread for this Problem. I use 0.9.7.4 betaThen that would be the thread to post in.


True, but I did not Attribute my Problem to the Version, rather to a Settings Problem. Since I changed videomemorysize and threaded optim LOD +2 runs fine (as far as i can tell).





Intel i7-2600K@4,6GHz, Asus P8Z68-V Pro Gen3, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 840 EVO SSD, Asus Strix GTX 970, Corsair TX850W
 
oportagDate: Wednesday, 04.05.2016, 00:12 | Message # 12
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
This soft is a piece of crap, i have at least 10 years of experience optimizing video games for my pc (that by the way is another piece of crap), but with this soft is imposible.
 
SalvoDate: Wednesday, 04.05.2016, 06:24 | Message # 13
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Italy
Messages: 1400
Status: Offline
Quote oportag ()
This soft is a piece of crap

Tell me where it's written that it absolutely must work with your pc?
It's a very heavy program, and, optimized or not, it cannot work perfectly fine on every single configuration of PC. It's a simulated universe dude, what did you expect?

Quote oportag ()
i have at least 10 years of experience optimizing video games for my pc but with this soft is imposible.

If you have "10 years of experience" you probably noticed that there are plenty of videogames that are optimized much worse than SE, and they had a lot of people working on it, Space Engine is made by a single person...





The universe is not required to be in perfect harmony with human ambition.

CPU: Intel Core i7 4770 GPU: ASUS Radeon R9 270 RAM: 8 GBs

(still don't know why everyone is doing this...)
 
MosfetDate: Wednesday, 04.05.2016, 10:23 | Message # 14
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
Quote oportag ()
10 years of experience optimizing video games

Quote oportag ()
my pc (that by the way is another piece of crap)


I'd like to see your SE.log just in case, and your PC specifications, but, well, you said it.
With all this experience in "optimising" you should know that you can't do that indefinitely.

Thanks anyway, today I'll bring my ROTFLcopter.





"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so."
Douglas N. Adams
My mods
Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
 
sinsforealDate: Wednesday, 04.05.2016, 12:40 | Message # 15
Space Pilot
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 129
Status: Offline
oportag, Really? This game has pretty lite requirements. A gt 9800 will run this game fine.




"Man once looked up at the stars and wondered, Now all we do is look at our hands and hesitate"
 
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search: