COMMUNITY ADDON - Catalog Fixes for SE
|
|
HarbingerDawn | Date: Sunday, 08.06.2014, 11:38 | Message # 1 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| As many of you may know, SE's star catalog has some errors in it, such as errors in spectral class, magnitude, and missing data. The goals here are to 1) identify stars which have errors, and 2) make new catalog scripts to fix these errors.
For this you will have to overwrite the existing HIP star and remake the entire system for your script. You can use the RemoveStar parameter in the script to do this. Keep in mind that you can also update the physical parameters of the stars in the system while you make it, including things like age.
For a tutorial on how to add stars, look here. Pay close attention to the need to use two catalogs per star system.
To expedite the process of building this catalog and adding it into SE, you should try to resolve all errors with your systems before posting them. When you finish your script for a star system (or many of them) you may post it in this thread.
Feel free to just post the name of a star that has an error even if you don't want to make a catalog fix. A list of stars that need fixing will make things a lot easier on the scripters.
Good luck!
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Sunday, 08.06.2014, 11:41 | Message # 2 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| To start off, here is a fix for HIP 115218:
Star catalog script Code RemoveStar "HIP 115218"
StarBarycenter "HIP 115218 system" { RA 23 20 14.37962 Dec 61 58 12.4578 Dist 290.2 Class "M2 III" } Planet catalog script Code Star "HD 220074/HIP 115218/HR 8881" { ParentBody "HIP 115218 system" Class "M2 III" AppMagn 6.39 Radius 3.460114e7 Mass 1.2 FeH -0.25 Age 4.5
Orbit { Type "Static" } }
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
Edited by HarbingerDawn - Sunday, 08.06.2014, 11:45 |
|
| |
pzampella | Date: Monday, 14.07.2014, 20:25 | Message # 3 |
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
| HIP 98298 is a binary system in SE, but it really is the famous system knowed as Cygnus X-1. I have tried to delete one of the stars to replace it with a black hole named "Cyg X-1" but I haven't been able to do it. If somebody manages to succed, please post the code. Thanks!
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Monday, 14.07.2014, 22:10 | Message # 4 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| I already did that here: http://en.spaceengine.org/forum/17-1351-37970-16-1392425784
A search for Cygnus X-1 would have given you the link.
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
pzampella | Date: Tuesday, 15.07.2014, 17:01 | Message # 5 |
Space Pilot
Group: Users
Venezuela
Messages: 115
Status: Offline
| Yeah thanks! I just added it last night. I was searching for "Cyg X-1". It's really nice yur work by the way.
|
|
| |
alessandroporcelli91 | Date: Tuesday, 03.02.2015, 14:18 | Message # 6 |
Observer
Group: Newbies
Pirate
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
| 1. I couldn't find HD 140283 (AKA the Methuselah star), and I think it would be nice to include it.
2. Wouldn't it be nice to have aphelion and perihelion as orbital parameters for the planets?
Edited by alessandroporcelli91 - Sunday, 08.02.2015, 12:39 |
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Saturday, 18.04.2015, 09:25 | Message # 7 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| Alf Cen C:
Star catalog script Code RemoveStar "HIP 70890"
StarBarycenter "Proxima system" { RA 14 29 42.9487 Dec -62 40 46.141 Dist 1.3009 Class "M5.5 V" AbsMagn 15.49 } Planet catalog script Code Star "Proxima/Proxima Cen/ALF Cen C/V645 Cen/Gliese 551" { ParentBody "Proxima system" Class "M5.5 V" AbsMagn 15.49 MassSol 0.123 RadSol 0.141 Age 4.85 RotationPeriod 2004 Orbit { Type "Static" } Surface { BumpHeight 4 BumpOffset 2 } } Sol (in Catalogs0973.pak/stars/Stars.sc):
Change name line from to English name is already given in the eng-db.cfg file, so it is redundant here.
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
Edited by HarbingerDawn - Saturday, 18.04.2015, 09:33 |
|
| |
sterrre | Date: Sunday, 21.06.2015, 10:02 | Message # 8 |
Observer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 11
Status: Offline
| Mintaka
|
|
| |
SpaceHopper | Date: Monday, 22.06.2015, 22:23 | Message # 9 |
Explorer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 186
Status: Offline
| What's wrong with Mintaka?
3.14% of all seafarers are PIrates. *** Got Mole Problems? Call Avogadro at 602-1023 *** Google Search my picture to discover whom it depicteth.
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Monday, 22.06.2015, 22:55 | Message # 10 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| Quote sterrre ( ) Mintaka Quote SpaceHopper ( ) What's wrong with Mintaka? http://www.reddit.com/r/spaceengine/comments/3ald8o/mintaka_9_errors/
sterrre, it was not very courteous of you to make us go to Reddit just to find out what problem you were reporting. Also, those are not catalog errors, those are limitations/imperfections in procedural planet generation.
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Wednesday, 30.12.2015, 19:54 | Message # 11 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| HIP 93840
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Tuesday, 16.02.2016, 13:11 | Message # 12 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Strange error in the 'nebulae.sc' file with the Homunculus Nebula
The values of RA and Dec are given in decimal, but behind it are still minutes and seconds. Therefore the star Eta Carina is not in the center of the nebula.
Code Nebula "Homunculus Nebula/Eta Carinae Nebula" { Galaxy "Milky Way" Type "Diffuse" RA 10.751 41 03.591 Dec -59.6845 41 04.26 Dist 2376 Radius 0.245 AppMagn 15.0 }
This must be so:
Code Nebula "Homunculus Nebula/Eta Carinae Nebula" { Galaxy "Milky Way" Type "Diffuse" RA 10.751 Dec -59.6845 Dist 2376 Radius 0.245 AppMagn 15.0 }
To correct this error, extract the file 'nebulae.sc' from 'Catalogs0974.pak' in a folder 'catalogs\nebulae'. Create the folder if it does not exist. Then correct the two faulty lines, in an editor. SpaceEngine will now use this corrected file.
This bug has been around since at least SE 0.971
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Friday, 08.04.2016, 10:44 | Message # 13 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| UY Scuti
In the catalog file 'stars.sc' is missing the distance information, so SE selects a random value and placed the star outside the Milky Way. Here is a file containing the distance information and some other corrections.
Code // UYScuti.sc // Data from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UY_Scuti RemoveStar "UY Sct" // In SE 0.974 RC2 not necessary, but perhaps necessary in older version. Star "UY Sct" { RA 18 27 36.5334 Dec -12 27 58.866 Dist 2900 // is missing in the original stars.sc script, therfore SE uses random value. Class "M4 Ia" AppMagn 9.0 // 8.9 - 11.20 //Radius 582133500 // random median - this is only ~ 836.08037 RadSol, also to small RadSol 1708 // +- 192 MassSol 10 // 7 - 10 - other source says 20 -40 }
In 'SE 0.974 RC2' put the file into 'addons\catalogs\stars'. If the folder does not exist, create it.
Don't forget to look here.
Edited by JackDole - Friday, 08.04.2016, 10:46 |
|
| |
JackDole | Date: Friday, 08.04.2016, 12:13 | Message # 14 |
Star Engineer
Group: Local Moderators
Germany
Messages: 1742
Status: Offline
| Alnitak duplicate entry in SE 0.974 RC2
Copy the file 'stars.sc' from 'Catalogs 0974.pak' to 'data\catalogs\stars'.
Remove from 'stars.sc' this section:
Code Star "Alnitak/ZET Ori/50 Ori/HD 37742" { RA 05 40 45.5 Dec -01 56 34 Dist 368.7 //387 Class "O9 1b" AppMagn 1.73 } It does not work if 'stars.sc' is copied to 'addons\catalogs\stars'!
But in my opinion, the position of Alnitak is wrong.
To change that, copy alse the file 'stars-bin-2.sc' to 'data\catalogs\stars'.
Replace in this file:
Code StarBarycenter "Alnitak/ZET Ori/50 Ori" { RA 05 40 45.5 Dec -07 56 34 Dist 214.7239 } With:
Code StarBarycenter "Alnitak/ZET Ori/50 Ori/HD 37742" { RA 05 40 45.52666 Dec -01 56 34.2649 Dist 214.7239 }
The distances seem to be rather uncertain. There are many different information in the sources.
Don't forget to look here.
|
|
| |
Mosfet | Date: Friday, 08.04.2016, 14:16 | Message # 15 |
World Builder
Group: Users
Italy
Messages: 754
Status: Offline
| I'm trying to change in 0974RC2 Alnitak position, a triple system, by correcting its declination value, without success. now we have 2 Alnitak, a single star of the Orion belt, and a triple system some degrees below. Correct system, wrong position.
Jackdole, your post wasn't there before
"Time is illusion. Lunchtime doubly so." Douglas N. Adams My mods Asus x555ub: cpu i5-6200u - ram 4gb - gpu nvidia geforce 940m 2gb vram
Edited by Mosfet - Friday, 08.04.2016, 14:26 |
|
| |