Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Water, Clouds, Trees
Water, Clouds, Trees
Star_ManDate: Monday, 07.09.2015, 04:14 | Message # 16
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Hello all. Quontex, I know what you are saying. It's a good idea but, for Space Engine it would be a much better idea to use a 3D procedural approach. I've been programming for many years, so, I have a good understanding of what's going on in SE. At the end of the day the 3D procedural approach would look much more realistic and, it would follow the flow of the way SE works now. What you are talking about is called the Billboard approach. It is used in many games but, it has a lot of limitations and it is never as realistic looking as the 3D approach. But, the important thing is no matter what method is used it will be so wonderful to see plants and animals in SE.
smile

ursadesignDate: Sunday, 27.09.2015, 11:43 | Message # 17
Observer
United Kingdom
Won't trees be very, very hard to procedural generate? They're quite complex structures

AerospacefagDate: Sunday, 27.09.2015, 16:17 | Message # 18
Pioneer
Group: Users
Russian Federation
ursadesign, we can always save resources on something else, right now the planetarium mode provides a superior detalization to any known engines, but most of these engines don't need such high quality anyway. Probably they will get there in 3-5 years one way or another, just about time the Space Engine game itself may be released.

The real problem of course is the modeling of the plants and (especially) animals themselves, which a the very debatable question with doubtful outcomes. I've suggested to make some sort of swarms, flocks, packs of different animals, birds and fish, generated mostly by the particle systems, but that's just a half-measure anyway.

ursadesignDate: Monday, 28.09.2015, 08:54 | Message # 19
Observer
United Kingdom