Brown dwarf strangeness
|
|
ZalgoWaits | Date: Wednesday, 18.12.2013, 20:17 | Message # 1 |
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
| Okay, so, I'm creating a system for use in a tabletop game, and because I'm lazy, I don't create my planets from scratch, I just look around for a suitable existing (or procedural) one to use as a template, then tweak it from there to get it just right.
Normally, that works great. Done it a bunch of times, never had any problems. But apparently not so much with brown dwarfs? Right now, I'm using Gliese 588 B as my template. In its default system, it looks like this: As you can see, nothing wrong with it; everything's fine.
So, I export the system, edit the file down to have just the brown dwarf in question, and then—without changing anything at all about G588B itself (yet)—insert it into its new home system. And by anything at all, I mean anything. Nothing about its rotational characteristics, orbital characteristics, or physical parameters, including clouds or atmosphere. Those changes come later, because I like to be methodical and do my changes exactly one step at a time.
But apparently one step was too many, because in its new home system, it looks like this: You can see G588B itself in the middle, about the same size that it was in the first image (which it should be, because I was at the same zoom level). That big floofy veil around it seems to be the cloud layer, since it goes away if I turn clouds off in-game, or edit the file parameters to get rid of them for just it.
It looks awful and I'm not sure why it would do that, when, again, I've changed nothing about it except which star it's orbiting.
Anyone know what causes this and, more importantly, how to fix it? Here's a list of things I've tried, to no avail. Some of them might make less sense to try than others, but whatever, I was getting desperate. • Increasing and decreasing SMA • Increasing and decreasing radius • Increasing and decreasing cloud height • Increasing and decreasing atmosphere height • Changing atmosphere model • Changing axial tilt • Changing oblateness • Changing rotational period
If there's no solution, I can just leave it with NoClouds set to true, since they don't make that much of a visual difference, and it'd be preferable to having them all weird like that. But I'd still rather not have to, since it'd bug me.
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 05:22 | Message # 2 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| Post the complete code of your system.
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
ZalgoWaits | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 13:02 | Message # 3 |
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
| So it's not something that can be diagnosed just from looking at it, huh? Dang. Well, here you go.
Here is the code for the barycenter of the system as a whole (which does work fine), and here is the code for the primary star (which also works fine) and the imported/teleported Gliese 588 B prior to making any orbital or physical changes.
|
|
| |
Joey_Penguin | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 14:55 | Message # 4 |
Pioneer
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 311
Status: Offline
| I actually kind of like how it looks. It looks more detailed and stormy. With some refinement, perhaps this is what T or Y-class brown dwarfs could look like? Added (19.12.2013, 17:55) --------------------------------------------- I actually kind of like how it looks. It looks more detailed and stormy. With some refinement, perhaps this is what T or Y-class brown dwarfs could look like?
Careful. The PLATT Collective has spurs.
|
|
| |
ZalgoWaits | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 14:58 | Message # 5 |
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
| I admit with a still image it doesn't look as bad, but it looks worse in-game, especially when moving the camera.
|
|
| |
HarbingerDawn | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 21:44 | Message # 6 |
Cosmic Curator
Group: Administrators
United States
Messages: 8717
Status: Offline
| ZalgoWaits, remove NoPlanets true from the star catalog, it's not necessary. The catalog for the star itself, as it is a "planet" catalog, will prevent the generation of procedural planets.
For debugging purposes, remove all extraneous code from the brown dwarf and use simply this code:
Code Star "PLACEHOLDER NAME Brown Dwarf" { ParentBody "PLACEHOLDER NAME System" Class "T3 V" Mass 0.02336617
Orbit { SemiMajorAxis 60.32035 Period 1245.267 Eccentricity 0.5884251 Inclination 218.2964 AscendingNode 90.12828 ArgOfPericenter 536.5856 MeanAnomaly 97.9295 RefPlane "Ecliptic" } }
Also, the orbital elements of your stars are completely wrong if you intend them to be a binary system. If not, then never mind.
All forum users, please read this! My SE mods and addons Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM
|
|
| |
ZalgoWaits | Date: Thursday, 19.12.2013, 22:01 | Message # 7 |
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 6
Status: Offline
| Just like the name, many of the orbital elements are just temporary placeholders for now until I get the brown dwarf looking right.
Which I just did, thanks to you. You're a gentleman and a scholar.
edit: It seems weird that the code that gets exported wouldn't work as-is when re-imported, but hey, I'm no dev, there's probably a sound reason for it.
double-edit: For real tho, that was driving me nuts. Thanks a bunch.
Edited by ZalgoWaits - Thursday, 19.12.2013, 22:05 |
|
| |