ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
Troubleshooting and bug reports - SpaceEngine 0.9.7.1
SpaceEngineerDate: Thursday, 26.12.2013, 00:29 | Message # 1
Author of Space Engine
Group: Administrators
Russian Federation
Messages: 4800
Status: Offline
Please post here all of your reports about bugs or crashes in SpaceEngine. Before you post any bugs, please follow these steps:

  • Read the Fixing common issues section below. It is possible that your problem can be solved there.
  • Read the List of known issues section below and make sure that your bugs are not on in it. You can use your browser's word finder to help search the list.
  • If the bug is not on the list then please post it in this thread. Attach to your message a screenshot (if possible) and a log file (it's called the se.log and is located in the SpaceEngine/system/ directory). Only the log file will help me to understand your problem and find a solution!



    Fixing common issues

    1) Obsolete or incompatible drivers
    These are the most frequent errors found in SE. You will get a popup window with one of these following messages:

    - "You have old OpenGL version (2.1.1). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "You have old GLSL version (1.2). Update your graphics card driver or install compatible hardware"

    - "Critical extensions missing: GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object"

    - "Error loading surface generator shaders. Press YES to run program with procedural planets disabled. Press NO to exit"


    Download and install latest drivers for your video card. If you still get this message, it could be that you have an incompatible video card (see next paragraph).

    [CRITICAL NOTE] Some recent NVidia drivers are incompatible with SE. Symptoms are flashing planet images on the screen when you open the F2 menu (see the spoiler), missing lens flares, grayed out options for HDR and FXAA in the Graphics settings menu, and other glitches. The errors in the se.log are look like this:

    If you have run into these problems, update to at least 344.65, or roll back to earlier than 337.xx.


    But you still can try and run SpaceEngine by disabling checking of critical errors at startup. Open main.cfg and change value of this parameter to 'true':

    IgnoreCriticalCheck true // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting

    NOTE: I can give no guaranties that SpaceEngine will be stable and work correctly if you do make this change.

    If you have an "Error loading surface generator shaders" error and press Yes, SpaceEngine can run, but it will not be able to render procedural planetary landscapes.

    After updating or rollback of the drivers, you must delete the cache folder in the SpaceEngine directory.

    2) Weak system
    Most of the forum posts I receive are from users that report an inability to start SpaceEngine, This is because those users have inbuilt Intel graphics card, or some old GeForce 5700 series, or not a proper "gaming" laptop. There is no way but to update your hardware system. There are no plans to make a second version of the engine for weaker systems with simplified graphics, CPU texture generation, etc. It would be like coding another engine from scratch. Once again, I would remind everyone that the minimum system requirements can be found on the Home page, but I will mention it here as well:

    CPU 2.0 GHz
    RAM 2 Gb
    Video GeForce 8600, Radeon HD 2600
    vRAM 512 Mb

    I stress that the special role played by videocard onboard memory (vRAM). 512 MB is the absolute minimum. The engine uses a large amount of data that must be in video memory (textures, meshes, vbo, etc). If your system meets the recommended requirements, the engine will work, because its development is made for this hardware:

    CPU 3.0 GHz
    RAM 4 Gb
    Video GeForce 9800 GTX, ATI Mobility HD 5730
    vRAM 1024 Mb

    You can try to start the engine with some OpenGL extensions disabed, if your hardware does not support them: frame buffer objects (FBO), half floats, float textures and 3D textures. Information about this is written at the beginning of the log (SpaceEngine/system/se.log), after the list of extensions:

    Framebuffer objects supported
    Half floats suppoted
    Floating-point pixel format: GL_RGBA16F_ARB
    3D textures suppoted


    If the log reads 'unsupported, then the extension is not supported and the engine will disable itself. If it seems to support float and 3D textures, but the atmosphere of planets has some monstrous bottleneck, such as the GeForce 6200 and GeForce 6600, then it is best to disable those extensions forcibly. This is done in the file config/main.cfg:

    IgnoreFBO false // disable framebuffer objects
    IgnoreHalfFloat false // disable half floats
    IgnoreFloatTextures false // disable float textures
    Ignore3DTextures false // disable 3D textures
    IgnoreShaderBinary false // disable binary shaders cache
    IgnoreCriticalCheck false // ignore checking of OpenGL version and critical extensions supporting


    Reference:
    - The Milky Way and other nearby galaxies and nebulae use FBO. HDR rendering mode also use FBO. Disabling it disables the 3D models of galaxies and nebulae, and disables HDR mode.
    - Atmospheres using float and 3D textures. Disabling any of them disables the atmosphere. HDR rendering mode uses a float textures, disabling them disables HDR.
    - Shader binary cache reduces lags on loading shaders. Works normally on NVidia, onr ATI and Intel it disabled automatically after first laubch of SpaceEngine.

    If you have a Intel HD graphics card, it is better to disable asynchronous loading in the main.cfg as well:

    LoaderMode 2 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    3) System with hybrid graphics (NVidia/ATI + Intel HD)
    If you're running SE on a laptop with dual graphics, make sure SE runs on NVidia or ATI chip instead of Intel HD. You may see it in the beginning of "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file. If it says:

    Vendor: Intel
    Renderer: Intel® HD Graphics 4000

    then you should open NVidia Control Panel or ATI Catalyst and force SpaceEngine.exe run on NVidia/ATI graphics card. If you do not found SpaceEngine profile there, create a new one.

    4) Crashing in the interstellar or intergalactic space or after appearing of the nebula in the view field
    If you open the "SpaceEngine/system/se.log" file after a crash, and it ends up with line like this:

    Creating nebula model "cache/models/nebulae/M42.nm",

    then try to disable asynchronous loading of a resources. Open the file config/main.cfg with the Notepad and change this parameter to 1:

    LoaderMode 1 // loader mode: 0 = immediate, 1 = interleaved, 2 = asynchronous

    After that, delete the cache folder from the SpaceEngine directory. Performance will drop while flying between a stars and galaxies, but stability may be improved. After a while, all models of galaxies and nebulae a being be generated, and you may enable asynchronous loading back (set up LoaderMode 2).

    5) Spaceship disappear when far from a star
    It is not a bug. Current version have not yet completed spaceships rendering system - they cannot be rendered if there is no stars or planets in the renderlist. Just imagine that ship becomes invisible in interstellar flight smile

    6) Blurry textures on Solar system planets
    It is not a bug. Our Solar system planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, Moon, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and its satellites) have no procedural textures, only real ones with limited level-of-detail. You can download addons with high resolution textures to increase level of detail of real planets.

    7) Artifacts on procedural planets
    If you get missing landscape blocks, blurry or blinking textures, random spikes sticking out of surface, check out these recommendations here:

    a) If you have a laptop with hybrid graphics, read the paragraph 3.

    b) Make sure that you make a "clean" installation of SE. If you install a new version overwriting the old one, you may get many bugs and glitches. If you get some glitches after the patch is installed, remove the folder called cache from SpaceEngine's directory.

    c) If this does not help, read the paragraph 8.

    8) Frequent crashing while generating planetary surface
    If you have frequent crashes on planets, or get an "OUT OF MEMORY" message on screen, or "Unexpected deleting of child node" in the log file, try taking these steps first:

  • Close any other programs that can consume the video memory (games, video players, graphics editors, etc.). SpaceEngine is not a small flash type game, video memory is the most important resource for it. It may help to disable the Windows Aero theme too, as it consumes a lot of video memory.
  • Disable "3D water" in Graphics settings (Ctrl-F4)
  • Reduce "Landscape LOD" to -2 in Graphics settings (Ctrl+F4)
  • Set up the amount of video memory in the main.cfg file:

    VideoMemorySize 2048 // video card onboard memory (VRAM) in megabytes

    The value must not be less than 1024, but not more than the total amount of physical video memory plus amount of RAM. For example, if you have a graphics card with 1024 MB of video memory, and more than 2 GB of RAM, you can increase VideoMemorySize to 2048.



    List of known issues

    Green items have been fixed for the next release

    Not real bugs, but effects caused by limitations in the engine:
    - Ships do not render in interstellar space
    - Star catalog has many errors in star classification, so there are many "giant dwarfs" and "dwarf giants"
    - Many real binary stars rendered as single, and many single rendered as binary - SE simply have incomplete catalog of binary stars
    - An unwanted star (sprite) is visible in the barycenter of a binary star from distance greater than 0.01 pc
    - Comet nucleus star-sprite will shine through planets [example].
    - Galaxy/nebula sprites will rotate when seen from certain angles
    - Auroras, comet tails and rings can be rendered in front of ships/moons sometimes
    - Lens flares are distorted by gravitational lensing (black holes and ship warp drive effect)
    - Text editor for Wiki descriptions is not working - it is not implemented yet
    - Solar system moons don't have extremely accurate orbits (requires implementation of custom orbit models, e.g. VSOP-87)
    - Sunspot distribution is not always realistic
    - Ocean tag not yet implemented in planet editor
    - Rounding errors (e.g. 30° in catalog rounds to 29°59'59.99" displayed on HUD)
    - Ship retro engines have not been implemented yet

    Real bugs:
    - Too many planets with life (panspermia issue)
    - Oceanias have landscapes above water
    - Several bugs with the planet editor
    - Changing "modes" between simulation and orbital when piloting ships can cause glitches
    - Few issues with asynchronous loading (stars don't always generate properly, especially when flying to new galaxies)
    - Holes in some giant stars when camera is directly above a very tall spot [example]
    - Flashing landscape LOD on a planet when Wiki for it is displayed
    - Star clusters not displayed in Wiki
    - GUI response issues with some users (interface items glitchy or not respond easily)
    - GUI toolbars may completely disappear when pressing pin button while half-hidden
    - Deep space objects (e.g. stars, galaxies) will shine through planets when HDR for DSO is off, but HDR is on and Bloom is on [example]
    - Some neutron stars can have very low temperatures [example]
    - Flickering flare color in close binary systems [example]
    - Auto-exposure does not react when a sun is blocked while diffraction spikes are set to normal or super
    - Planet rings have an unrealistic color palette
    - "Eclipse bug" on distant planets (weird dark shimmering on outer planet caused by inner planet crossing the sun or two suns eclipsing)
    - Cloud cyclones have cut edges sometimes
    - Level horizon command (End key) doesn't work properly on oblate objects
    - Problems when releasing Left + Right click
    - Lines or junctures are visible on planetary surface
    - Switching to fullscreen doesn't work sometimes
    - Weird behavior of movement keys in tracking mode (T) and after releasing it
    - Automatic reference object setting with spacecraft doesn't always choose the best object (for example, when near dwarf moons or debris asteroids close to a planet you are trying to orbit)
    - 3D water fog sometimes starts above the water surface
    - Problems with the skybox export interface, and with the planetarium after using it, for some users
    - Music player will unpause when SE window is minimized and restored, or when entering and exiting the main menu
    - If a galaxy model is selected, the camera is not following any object, and the program is in Edit Mode, closing and restarting the program will cause the WASDRF movement keys to behave incorrectly until the camera is set to follow an object
    - "Crop orbits" in the Map mode doesn't work
    - Spaceship and lens flare textures do not load when loader mode is set to "Immediate"
    - Visual atmosphere heights are inconsistently and unrealistically generated
    - Physical atmosphere properties are inconsistently and unrealistically generated, and are not tied to the visual models
    - Dwarf moons can be generated on colliding orbits
    - Moons are never generated with retrograde orbits
    - Bugs with the surfaces of carbon stars and zirconium stars
    - Cyclones are not generated in the southern hemispheres of gas giants
    - Sometimes, worlds which are too small are classed as "selena" when they should be classed as asteroid
    - Shimmering bloom splotch when very close to the surface of a planet [example]
    - CW/CCW rotation keys for ship in atmosphere are reversed
    - Mouse axis inversion settings for spaceship controls are not saved
    - Z faces are switched when exporting skyboxes (pos_Z is really neg_Z)
  •  
    ZatSoloDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 18:02 | Message # 91
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 111
    Status: Offline
    When there are many nebulae around the performances drop a lot (4-6 fps @ 1920x1200 using a GTX 660ti)
    Under the same conditions (many nebulae around) I had much better performances with 0.9.7.0. (15-20 fps in FullHD)

    Try these coordinates with the new version and the 0.9.7.0 and you will see what a difference in fps!
    Code


    Place    "Diffuse nebulae in M31"
    {
        Body    "RN 1186-59342"
        Parent    "Andromeda"
        Pos  (-136.0947899853045, -87.721892249332, 161.7065529690839)
        Rot  (0.2883590671360305, 0.3600059519615044, 0.08140725832222551, -0.8835256766190714)
        Date    "2013.09.16 08:17:49.28"
        Vel  1.3720431
        Mode    1
    }


    Edited by ZatSolo - Sunday, 29.12.2013, 18:05
     
    SaaanDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 18:40 | Message # 92
    Observer
    Group: Users
    Switzerland
    Messages: 17
    Status: Offline
    I have to report a few bugs in the planet editor:

    1. Space engine often crashes or rarely freezes, when i change the class of a planet or something on the landscape.
    2. When changing the sea level, i dont see any changes on the wather
    3. large non gas giant planets usually having blinking black squares on it
    4. when i change a selena to a terra and increasing the sea level, i dont see any wather on the planet
    5. changing anything like rivers etc causes insane graphic bugs, wich may causes a crash or rarely a freeze

    and i found some other bugs:

    1. terras are now very rare (i dont found a single terra today)
    2. when flying to a planet, the programm usually lags
    3. on oceanias with iselands, the wather animation is missing around these islands and here comes too, that these iselands are graphically broken (near wather usually violet and iselands itself just withe wigh very high and spiky mountains)
    4. I found some galaxys without a single star in it


    Edited by Saaan - Sunday, 29.12.2013, 18:41
     
    DeathStarDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 19:12 | Message # 93
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    Croatia
    Messages: 515
    Status: Offline
    Quote Saaan ()
    1. Space engine often crashes or rarely freezes, when i change the class of a planet or something on the landscape.


    How do you change the class of a planet in-game?

    Quote Saaan ()
    2. When changing the sea level, i dont see any changes on the wather


    Yep, just checked, this is a problem for me to.

    Quote Saaan ()
    3. large non gas giant planets usually having blinking black squares on it


    I actually noticed this too- on small gas giants as well. Really weird.

    Quote Saaan ()
    1. terras are now very rare (i dont found a single terra today)


    Yea, terras and oceanias seems to be insanely rare this version. At the same time, titans and ice worlds with life are way too common.

    Quote Saaan ()
    2. when flying to a planet, the programm usually lags


    Not really a bug unless the lag is so bad the game is unplayable.

    Quote Saaan ()
    4. I found some galaxys without a single star in it


    LOL. OK, that is strange. Can you give an example location?
     
    JCandeiasDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 19:38 | Message # 94
    Pioneer
    Group: Translators
    Portugal
    Messages: 387
    Status: Offline
    Speaking of the planet editor, for me the thing is even more drastic. As soon as I click on anything, the planet I'm trying to edit simply vanishes. The info is still there (although sometimes rather nonsensical: asteroids tend for some reason to "gain" extremely thin atmospheres, for instance), but the planet isn't.

    This is new. In 0.97 the planet editor worked relatively well. It had a few bugs, but it was useful. Now its only use is to check values. As soon as I try to change them, puff.





    They let me use this!
     
    DisasterpieceDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 21:14 | Message # 95
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    United States
    Messages: 640
    Status: Offline
    I found a strange bug while using ships. If you destroy a ship while flying it in map mode (f1) weird things happen. Firstly, you get locked into map mode, then labels turn on by the billions and finally all of your settings get changed.




    I play teh spase engien
     
    neutronium76Date: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 21:37 | Message # 96
    World Builder
    Group: Users
    Greece
    Messages: 718
    Status: Offline
    Quote ZatSolo ()
    When there are many nebulae around the performances drop a lot


    Yes you are right. A temporary solution is to edit universe.cfg and reduce the diffuse nebula density in galaxies to around 0.1-0.15. Anything higher will cause a dramatic drop in fps. I believe there must be another solution for this but I am too sleepy to research now..

    Added (30.12.2013, 00:37)
    ---------------------------------------------

    Quote midtskogen ()
    I was only using the default settings. I gave coords, so you can check the place if you want to. It has many nice views anyway.


    Yes you are correct. Sorry I just couldn't figure out how to use the cords you provided. It gets even worse if you disable HDR





    PC1:Core i7 970@3.34GHz, 6 cores/12 threads, 12GB DDR3 RAM@1.34GHz, 2x(SLI) GTX-580 GPUs 3GB VRAM(GDDR5)@1GHz, OS:Win7x64SP1
    PC2:Core2Quad X9770@3.2GHz, 2 cores/4 threads 4GB DDR2 RAM@1GHz, GTX-285 GPU 1GB VRAM(DDR3)@1.24GHz, OS:WinVistax64SP2
     
    ZatSoloDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 22:36 | Message # 97
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 111
    Status: Offline
    Quote neutronium76 ()
    A temporary solution is to edit universe.cfg and reduce the diffuse nebula density in galaxies to around 0.1-0.15.

    Yes, true, even using NebulaDiffDensity 0.5 the performance goes better. Thanks.
    Anyway .... SE 0.9.7.0 in the same condition works good. Why? Bug or changes in nebula models or .... wacko ???
     
    SolarLinerDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 23:09 | Message # 98
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    France
    Messages: 267
    Status: Offline
    Quote Saaan ()

    1. terras are now very rare (i dont found a single terra today)

    For some reason "ProbOceania" in universe.cfg is set to 1. So everytime a planet will be generated tha matches the "Terra/Oceania" conditions, 100% are oceanias. I put it to 0.50 (ver0.9.7's value) and terras started to reappear.

    Added (30.12.2013, 02:09)
    ---------------------------------------------
    Quote neutronium76 ()
    Yes you are right. A temporary solution is to edit universe.cfg and reduce the diffuse nebula density in galaxies to around 0.1-0.15. Anything higher will cause a dramatic drop in fps. I believe there must be another solution for this but I am too sleepy to research now..


    That fixed my low FPS issues over procedural planets. Thanks.





    custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine

    Edited by SolarLiner - Sunday, 29.12.2013, 23:51
     
    SaaanDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 23:21 | Message # 99
    Observer
    Group: Users
    Switzerland
    Messages: 17
    Status: Offline
    where i can find the proboceania?

    @ deathstar, the class of planets can be changed with the dropdown box on the top of the editor.
     
    VoekoevakaDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 23:49 | Message # 100
    World Builder
    Group: SE team
    France
    Messages: 1016
    Status: Offline
    On this cersion, I found a lot of 200 kilometer sized selenas looking like asteroids. Is this wanted, or a bug ?




    Want some music of mine ? Please go here !

     
    SolarLinerDate: Sunday, 29.12.2013, 23:50 | Message # 101
    Explorer
    Group: Users
    France
    Messages: 267
    Status: Offline
    universe.cfg, in the config folder. Sorry for the trouble, in the rush I forgot. Edited ! wink




    custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
     
    ZatSoloDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 00:40 | Message # 102
    Space Pilot
    Group: Users
    Italy
    Messages: 111
    Status: Offline
    Quote Voekoevaka ()
    ... I found a lot of 200 kilometer sized selenas looking like asteroids. Is this wanted, or a bug

    Yes, like that :



    It's classified as "Ice world" but it seems an asteroid, with mountains excessively high, to be honest ... wacko

    Attachments: 0594724.jpg (461.6 Kb)


    Edited by ZatSolo - Monday, 30.12.2013, 00:41
     
    DeathStarDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 01:20 | Message # 103
    Pioneer
    Group: Users
    Croatia
    Messages: 515
    Status: Offline
    Yeah, i noticed those extremely small selenas/ice worlds too. The look like they've been run over by something.
     
    HarbingerDawnDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 01:48 | Message # 104
    Cosmic Curator
    Group: Administrators
    United States
    Messages: 8717
    Status: Offline
    Quote neutronium76 ()
    It gets even worse if you disable HDR

    SE doesn't work properly if you disable HDR; most of its graphical features only function with it on, and performance is also higher with it on. It's best to leave it enabled.

    Quote Saaan ()
    4. I found some galaxys without a single star in it

    Probably a generation error caused my a multithreading glitch or memory problem. Try exiting and restarting in that galaxy and see if it still has no stars.

    Quote Saaan ()
    When changing the sea level, i dont see any changes on the wather

    SeaLevel no longer affects the height of water, only the ocean tag works for that, which is not yet integrated into the planet editor.





    All forum users, please read this!
    My SE mods and addons
    Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 GHz, 16 GB DDR3 RAM, GTX 970 3584 MB VRAM


    Edited by HarbingerDawn - Monday, 30.12.2013, 01:51
     
    JCandeiasDate: Monday, 30.12.2013, 02:12 | Message # 105
    Pioneer
    Group: Translators
    Portugal
    Messages: 387
    Status: Offline
    Quote Voekoevaka ()
    On this cersion, I found a lot of 200 kilometer sized selenas looking like asteroids. Is this wanted, or a bug ?

    Quote ZatSolo ()
    It's classified as "Ice world" but it seems an asteroid, with mountains excessively high, to be honest ... wacko


    Well, as far as I'm concerned, the only thing I think is not quite right in these worlds is when they don't have a layer of craters partially obliterating the base orography. Otherwise, they are pretty credible. Just look at photos of, say, Hyperion, and compare them with ZatSolo's image. You'll surely see the resemblance.

    That 200-300 km range is when roundness caused by self-gravity begins to give way to other forces as the main determinant of shape in astronomical objects, so I think this reflects reality quite well.





    They let me use this!
     
    Search: