ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Force higher resolutions exceeding your monitor max
NirklarsDate: Saturday, 14.02.2015, 22:18 | Message # 1
Observer
Group: Newbies
Sweden
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Hello community!

I wanted to share an AutoHotkey script to you that I use to take high res screenshots in 4096x2160.

To use it install AutoHotkey. Double click on the ahk file. Run spaceengine in windowed mode and press F12 to force the window size. Press F12 again to restore your window size. You can edit the script it to any resolution that you prefer!

Here is a more in depth instructional guide:
https://nirklars.wordpress.com/2015....enshots

Copy and paste the following code into notepad or any other plain text editor. Save as highresscreenshots.ahk or whichever you like as long as you end with the .ahk file extension.

Code

F12::
WinGet, TempWindowID, ID, A
If (WindowID != TempWindowID)
{
     WindowID:=TempWindowID
     WindowState:=0
}
If (WindowState != 1)
{
     WinGetPos, WinPosX, WinPosY, WindowWidth, WindowHeight, ahk_id %WindowID%
     WinSet, Style, ^0xC40000, ahk_id %WindowID%
     WinMove, ahk_id %WindowID%, , 0, 0, 4096, 2160
}
Else
{
     WinSet, Style, ^0xC40000, ahk_id %WindowID%
     WinMove, ahk_id %WindowID%, , WinPosX, WinPosY, WindowWidth, WindowHeight
}
WindowState:=!WindowState
return


There's probably many more ways to do this but AutoHotkey is a free scripting language and open source.
Hope this is of any help to you ! smile

EDIT: Small warning to you, this is very process intensive, only use it temporarily for taking pretty screenshots!

Here is an example screenshot. Click for full size!


Best Regard
Nick





http://nirklars.wordpress.com

Tutorial guide for capturing high resolution screenshots!


Edited by Nirklars - Thursday, 19.02.2015, 16:46
 
FastFourierTransformDate: Monday, 16.02.2015, 17:38 | Message # 2
Pioneer
Group: Local Moderators
Spain
Messages: 542
Status: Offline
This is awesome!! thanks
 
ElkarDate: Wednesday, 18.02.2015, 04:43 | Message # 3
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Will this cause lag?




( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 
anonymousgamerDate: Wednesday, 18.02.2015, 05:06 | Message # 4
World Builder
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Messages: 1011
Status: Offline
Quote Elkar ()
Will this cause lag?


Yes. A lot. Especially if using high LODs. Normally, the only reason you would want to exceed your monitor's resolution is to take pretty screenshots.





Desktop: FX-8350 4.0 GHz, 8 GB DDR3 RAM, EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW 8 GB, 2 TB HDD, 24 inch 1920x1080 screen
Laptop: Core i5 480M 2.66 GHz (turbo 2.93), 8 GB DDR3 RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6550m 1 GB, 640 GB HDD, 17.3 inch 1600x900 screen
 
SolarLinerDate: Wednesday, 18.02.2015, 17:47 | Message # 5
Explorer
Group: Users
France
Messages: 267
Status: Offline
Whoa that starfield in the sky of your pic is pretty!

Thanks for the script !





custom landing page to share: http://bit.ly/spaceengine
 
ElkarDate: Thursday, 19.02.2015, 00:10 | Message # 6
Space Tourist
Group: Users
United States
Messages: 22
Status: Offline
Okay, thanks for the info.




( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
 
NirklarsDate: Thursday, 19.02.2015, 16:40 | Message # 7
Observer
Group: Newbies
Sweden
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
Quote FastFourierTransform ()
This is awesome!! thanks

Glad that you found it useful smile

Quote SolarLiner ()
Whoa that starfield in the sky of your pic is pretty!

Thanks for the script !

Cheers!

Quote anonymousgamer ()
Will this cause lag?

Yes. A lot. Especially if using high LODs. Normally, the only reason you would want to exceed your monitor's resolution is to take pretty screenshots.

Yeah sorry for not warning, this is VERY process intensive.

With LOD maxed to 2 and taking screenshots I can usually only take 2-10 screenshots or so before space engine freezes or crashes.

Only use this script temporarily before taking screenshots, then toggle it back.

Best Regards!





http://nirklars.wordpress.com

Tutorial guide for capturing high resolution screenshots!
 
CordaxDate: Saturday, 10.10.2015, 05:42 | Message # 8
Observer
Group: Newbies
United States
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
Thanks!
 
  • Page 1 of 1
  • 1
Search: