• «
Forum » SpaceEngine » Feedback and Suggestions » Black Holes
Black Holes
midtskogenDate: Saturday, 10.12.2016, 19:55 | Message # 16
Star Engineer
Group: Users
Norway
Quotemccordengineering ()
This, in a nutshell, is how I see black holes as an engineer. Is it totally insane or does some of it make sense?

I'm an engineer as well, but I don't think it makes sense (but perhaps no less sense than reality!)

First, a golf ball sized black hole would capture light within a golf ball diameter. It would bend light beyond that diameter, but I think that the effect is practically zero a mile away, or about the same bending that Earth in full size causes.

Then, is the pressure inside a lightweight singularity larger than inside a heavyweight singularity? Mathematically, there is no inside of a singularity. A singularity has infinite density and infinite temperature. It doesn't make sense to say that some singularities have more infinite density than others. So for your ideas to work, you need to abandon the idea of a singularity.

NIL DIFFICILE VOLENTI

Edited by midtskogen - Saturday, 10.12.2016, 19:55

WatsisnameDate: Sunday, 18.12.2016, 02:48 | Message # 17
Galaxy Architect
Group: Global Moderators
United States
Quote mccordengineering ()
Anyway, my understanding is that if the entire earth is crushed down to pure mass, it would be about the size of a golf ball.

A little bit smaller -- 17.7mm in diameter, or a bit less than half the size of a golf ball. For those in the United States, it is about the size of a dime.

Quote midtskogen ()
It would bend light beyond that diameter, but I think that the effect is practically zero a mile away, or about the same bending that Earth in full size causes.