ENG New site

Advanced search

[ New messages · Forum rules · Members ]
  • Page 1 of 1
Forum » SpaceEngine » Off-topic Discussions » some questions about coding (plus a game i would like to make)
some questions about coding
hunterbickel2003Date: Thursday, 08.12.2016, 16:10 | Message # 1
Astronaut
Group: Users
Pirate
well since im in the teen age, im not really good at coding, nor have i ever done it. my question is how easy is it to code a algorithm for a sci-fi game that includes planet types. biomes, and buildings along with procedurally generated rooms?

the game i would make in the future is called Interstellar. Interstellar, is a universal sci-fi game that includes life, buildings, dungeons, weapons (alot), gear (like huge amounts), procedurally generated ships for you when you enter the game, Npcs, weather.

the game is a single/multiplayer horror, sci-fi, sandbox, exploration, first person shooter game all in one.

i figured out a way to load in all this stuff. you will have to modes outer space mode and planet mode. planet mode will show you a map of the planet. terra and terra like planets with have continents and regions in continents, then areas. if a desert or planet with no water/lava, then there will be procedurally generated regions(alot of them like 1000 probably) then areas. you can only explore one area, if you try to go to another, you will be blocked off and have to go by ship. and structures will not be in two regions at once.

if you have any questions or ideas about the game, please comment here

AlekDate: Thursday, 08.12.2016, 19:33 | Message # 2
Pioneer
United States